Skip to main content

Full text of "Raynham '76"

See other formats


^fc^JZSL. 



&% 






RMNMIAM 7© 




m 



Town Warrant 1775 



Bristol to the Constables of the Town of Raynham 

or either of them Greeting — 

These are in his majesties Name to require you forthwith to notifie and warn the 
freeholders and other inhabitants of said town qualified according to law to vote 
in town affairs to assemble and meet at the publick meeting house in said town on 
Monday on the thirteenth of November next at one of the clock in the afternoon 
then and there (if they see cause) to act on the following articles viz 

lstly to chuase a moderator to regulate said meeting 

2ndly to see what provision the town will make for the support of the town schools 

3rdly To see if the town will vote to raise a sum or sums of money to defray town 
debts 

and those persons who have any just demands on said town are desired to bring 
in their bills 

4thly To see if the town will vindicate the selectmen in delivering to the widow Han- 
nah White a small quantity of goods that were the widow Marcy Read deceased 
for her trouble are of said read in her last testament 

5thly To see if the town will chuse one assessor and one constable to serve in said 
town for the present year 

6thly to see what method the town will persue in the manufactoring salt petre agree- 
able to the advice and recommendation of the Continental Congress and Gen- 
eral Assembly of this coloney 

7thly To see if the town will raise a sum of money to put in the treasury for the town 
use 

and you are to make due return of this warrant with your doings thereon to us 
the subalterns at or before the time for honoring said meeting 

Given under our hand and seals at Raynham aforesaid this 26th day of October 
1775 and in the sixteenth year of his majesties reign 1775 

Joseph Dean 

Selectmen of Raynham 
Joseph Shaw 



RAYNHAM 76 




Published by 

Raynham Bicentennial Committee 

July 4th, 1976 



© Copyright 
Raynham Historic Commission 
Raynham, Massachusetts 



Acknowledgements 



In addition to many long hours put in by the bicentennial committee, 
there were several contributions from many without whom this work would 
have been impossible. We wish to express our appreciation to Dr. LaLiberte, 
Chet Millett, Lois Wakefield, Bob Boule and other members of the public 
school department who helped so much in publicizing our booklet. Our 
thanks to Bill Hanna and Carolyn Owen for their contributions with a special 
word for the efficiency with which Mrs. Owen has catalogued pictures of 
historic Raynham. Bernice Fountain wrote several of our organizational 
histories. Tony Riggillo took several pictures, Dora Pine contributed a fine 
rubbing, and Roger Hill provided a fine map. To all of you who helped, our 
sincere thanks. 

Richard Hill 



Printed in U.S.A. 
All rights reserved 



Introduction 

RAYNHAM '76 is the Bicentennial Committee's final contribution to 
Raynham. It attempts to capsulize the Raynham of 1976 while providing 
some historic information about Raynham's heritage. 

This booklet seeks to honor the accomplishments of past citizens, serve 
present citizens and provide future Raynham residents with some knowledge 
about what Raynham did in 1976 to observe America's Bicentennial. This 
booklet is dedicated to past, present and future citizens of Raynham in 
hopes that the spirit of the bicentennial will continue. 

The Raynham Bicentennial Committee 
Richard W. Hill, Chairman 
Marge Largey, Secretary 
Robert Newton, Treasurer 
Robert McGuire 
Sandra Hill 
Kathleen Roberts 
Patrice White 



Table of Contents 



History of St. Ann's Church 6 

Organizations of Town: 

Amariah Hall Singers 7 

American Legion Post 405 7 

Capeway Route 44 Businessmen's Association 9 

Citizen's Scholarship Foundation 10 

Conservation Commission 10 

Council on Aging ■. 11 

Raynham Giants 11 

Historical Society 12 

Human Services 13 

Jaycees 13 

Raynham Public Library 14 

Little League 15 

Raynham Lions Club 16 

Raynham Police Department 18 

Scouting 19 

Raynham Soccer League 20 

Sociable Seniors 20 

Town Meeting Questions and Answers 21 

The Iron Works 22 

Toby Gilmore 28 

Toby Gilmore & His Legends 29 

Perez Fobes and His 1793 History 35 

Simeon Doggett 42 

Amariah Hall ; 44 

Enoch Sanford 44 

Raynham in 1870 46 

Report of the Superintendent of Schools, 1876 47 

Truant Officer's Report, 1906 52 

Music Supervisor's Report, 1924 52 

RN's Report, 1924 53 

Walter O'Brien 54 

Communication from Rainham, England 57 

Raynham Celebrates the Bicentennial 57 

Honorary Grand Marshalls 61 

A History of Raynham? Why Not? 62 

List of Subscribers 63 



To God Be The Glory 





Parsonage of 
First Baptist Church 1912 

Old Colony Museum 



First Baptist Church 

Reverend James C. Malkemes 

494 Church Street - 823-5477 

Old Colony Museum 

Sunday Services: 

Sunday School, 9:30; Morning Worship, 10:45; Evening Service, 7:00; Wednesday Evening Prayer 

Meeting, 7:30 

Bible Study: 

Couples — Saturday Evening, Women — Wednesday Morning 

Pioneer Girls: 

Grades 2-6 — Thursday, 6:30; Grades 7-8 — Tuesday, 7:00 

Senior High Group — Friday evening every other week 

Junior Boys' program throughout the year 





jttfvW IKUXCH 



*M»W*M WfcSS. V^V^^'ilL 



First Congregational Church of Raynham 

Reverend Merlin Batt 

785 South Main Street - 822-6177 



First Congregational Church of Raynham 1 832 
Burned 1912 

Old Colony Museum 

Sunday Service at 9:30 A.M. 

Church School at 9:30, nursery care provided 

Young Adult Group and Junior Fellowship meet throughout the year 

Thrift Shop every Saturday 1 :00-5:00 P.M. 



4 




North Raynham Congregational Church 

Reverend Paul Colby 

1002 Broadway - 822-4576 

Sunday: 

Sunday School, 9:30; Morning Service, 10:45; Youth Groups, 5:45; Evening Service, 7:00 

Thursday: Prayer Meeting, 7:00 




St. Ann's Roman Catholic Church 

Reverend Gerald Shovelton 
660 North Main Street - 824-8604 

Vigil Masses Saturday Evening, 4:15 and 5:30 

Sunday Masses, 8:00, 10:00, 11:15 

Sacrament of Penance, Saturday 3:00-4:00, 7:30-8:30 

Daily Mass, Monday - Saturday, 9:00 A.M. 



History of St Ann's Church 



by Bernice Fountain 

The first Catholic Church in Raynham was 
established by decree of Bishop James L. 
Connolly on June 7, 1960. Reverend Leo T. 
Sullivan, assistant at Holy Name Church New 
Bedford became the first pastor. 

Temporary facilities were made available 
at Gilmore Hall and the first Mass in Rayn- 
ham was said there on June 19, 1960. 

On July 26, the Feast of St. Ann, the build- 
ing fund campaign began, and construction of 
the church edifice, of colonial design was be- 
gun on North Main Street on land formerly 
owned by Mrs. William Connors. 

Palm Sunday, March 26, 1961 was a day of 
rejoicing when the first mass in the new struc- 
ture was celebrated in the lower hall. All 
religious services and other meetings were 
conducted there while the upper church was 
being completed. St. Ann's Choir organized 
and held its first rehearsal on Tuesday, March 
2 1 and sang for the Easter Vigil and Midnight 
Mass. Mrs. Michael Connors was organist and 
Mr. James Dolan the choir director. 

On April 5, the ladies met to establish the 
Women's Guild and elected Mrs. Almon Turn- 
er as first president. On April 6 the Men's 
Club was organized with Cyril Tucker presi- 
dent. 

The Solemn Blessing of St. Ann's Church 
was held on Sunday, July 16, 1961 with 
Reverend William Morris and Reverend Gerald 
Shovelton assisting Bishop Connolly. Mass 
was said at 4:00 followed by a dinner served 
in the church hall. 

In the new parish there were many notable 
firsts: 

William and Robert Navin of South Main 
Street were the first altar boys serving at all 
the masses, June 19 at Gilmore Hall, Palm 
Sunday, and on July 16 at the dedication Mass. 

Elizabeth Ann Perry, daughter of JVlr. and 
Mrs. David Perry of North Main Street was 
the first to be baptized. 

The first wedding was that of Lynn Curry, 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Curry to 
David A. Burton on August 5, 1961. 

The first funeral was that of Edward J. 
Reilly formerly of White Street on August 7, 
1961. 



The first Country Fair was on October 10, 
11, and 12, 1961. 

First Sunday School was on October 1, 
1961 with two nuns* from St. Mary's assisting 
ten teachers. 

The first CYO meeting convened on Nov- 
ember 10, 1961. 

On May 1, 1963 the first Living Rosary 
Ceremony was held. This became an annual 
tribute to the Blessed Virgin Mary and was 
conducted by the Women's Guild. 

Reverend Thomas F. Neilan assisted Father 
Sullivan at St. Ann's from February 8, 1962 
to January of 1969. 

In November of 1964 an interesting project 
was conducted called "Come to the Feast" in 
which various ways of celebrating Advent, 
Christmas, Epiphany, Holy Thursday, Easter, 
and Pentacost in the home in a meaningful 
way were demonstrated in six different homes. 

St. Ann's celebrated its fifth anniversary 
concurrently with Father Sullivan's 30th an- 
niversary and a celebration and dinner marked 
both events in June 1965. 

Reverend Edward Mitchell came to St. 
Ann's as assistant in February 1969 and re- 
mained for the year. 

In October 1969, Reverend William E. 
Farland was assigned as the second pastor 
of St. Ann's succeeding Reverend Leo T. 
Sullivan who was transferred to Immaculate 
Conception Church in North Easton. After 
five years, Father Farland was transferred to 
St. Joseph's Church in Woods Hole and in 
September of 1974 Reverend Gerald Shovel- 
ton from St. Rita's Church in Marion came to 
St. Ann's as its third Pastor. 

On January 28, 1975, Reverend Herbert 
T. Nichols, newly ordained was welcomed as 
assistant. Through his efforts and enthusiasm 
the newest group was organized, the altar 
boys — as Knights of the Altar, a national 
organization into which the boys were install- 
ed in a ceremony on June 3, 1976. 

Our sincere gratitude is expressed to Miss 
Doris Morrisey who kept a careful and very 
complete scrapbook, making this history 
possible. 



Amariah 
Hall Singers 

The Amariah Hall Singers are a group of 
vocalists begun in the spring of 1974 by 
Richard Hill to perform music of the period 
of the American Revolution. They meet twice 
a month for rehearsals in Mr. Hill's home on 
1681 Broadway and sing five or six concerts 
each year. No auditions are necessary to join 
the group which is open to all interested per- 
sons from high school age up. But an ability 
to read music helps immeasurably. The group's 
first concert was for the celebration of Liber- 
ty and Union Week in Taunton in the fall of 
1974 at First Parish Church. Two concerts of 
early American Christmas music have been 
sung in Raynham and in Easton. The group 
was a guest of the Council of Minutemen in 
Concord's First Parish Church for their ob- 
servance of Washington's birthday on Feb- 
ruary 22, 1975. Their program for this occa- 
sion was comprised entirely of music compos- 
ed at the time of Washington and heard by 
him. Their concerts are held in churches with 
historic organs or in small halls or homes. 
They often employ a harpsichord and other 
instruments in their concerts which utilize a 
cross section of early music from hymns and 
anthems to ballads, popular songs, keyboard 
works, and ensemble works. Anyone inter- 
ested in joining the Amariah Hall Singers or 
having them perform should contact Mr. Hill. 



American Legion 
Post 405 

The Legion is a home away from home, a 
second home. Many wives will attest to that. 
Raynham's Legionnaires treat their Post Head- 
quarters on Mill Street as another home. The 
drinks are almost as cheap as at home only 
made by one of the several "Professionals" 
and the food is superb. There always seems to 
be at least one "expert" Polish cook on duty 
who can turn out a fine kale soup or some 
other Polish delicacy. The clam boil however 
should not be overlooked. 

The American Legion of Raynham is com- 
posed of the friendliest bunch of fellows in 
town. No one is ever lonesome at the Legion. 
Strangers, there aren't. People are easily ac- 
cepted and made to feel at home in the warm 
hospitality of the place, a place where this 
writer has enjoyed many a cold winter even- 
ing while the family was visiting in Florida. 

Chartered on January 18, 1947 under 
Commander Patrick Barden, the Legion has 
been a bulwark of support to our town. Its 
43 charter members immediately took steps 
to mark the graves of all Raynham veterans 
with flags. Throughout its history the Legion 
has helped needy families with financial and 
food aid giving several Christmas baskets each 
year. Their clam boils and turkey raffles 
financed Legion charities. In 1950 the Post 
dedicated a memorial to all those from Rayn- 
ham who served during World War II in our 
armed forces. In a large assembly, a parade 
marched to the town library for dedication 
of the stone. 

In the early fifties the Legion's parties for 
children at Halloween and Christmas provid- 
ed much enjoyment in a town with as yet 
little organization for the youth. 

But of all its accomplishments, Post 405 is 
most proud of its initiation of Raynham's 
Little League. On November 6, 1957, the 
Post voted unanimously to adopt a motion 
made by Henry Kulak and seconded by Tony 
Burgess to .sponsor baseball for children from 
9—14 years of age. The Post then established 
a league organization whose first officers were: 
President — Anthony Burgess; Vice President 
— Carl Sherman, William Murby; Secretary - 
Bob Arsenault; Treasurer — Henry Kulak. 
Four teams, the Army, Navy, Marines, and 
Air Force were formed. Russ Murray of the 
Dog Track, then owner and director donated 
funds for all uniforms and equipment. On 
May 25, 1958, opening day, a parade of lire 
trucks, police, and boys proceeded to the 
North School where the opening ceremonies 
were held. 



Post 405 now has a membership of some 
175 men. To join the Legion you must have 
active duty service in the United States Arm- 
ed Forces during one or more of the wars or 
the Korean or Vietnam conflicts. Chester A. 
Bearse for whom the post was named was the 
first Raynham man killed in action when his 
plane was shot down over Europe in the early 
years of World War II. 

Today's Post 405 is a large operation. The 
Post originally met in Weonit Hall which 
burned in 1958. The Post then moved to 
Gilmore Hall and in 1968 bought land on 
which to build the present headquarters on 
Mill Street. A ball at the Black Mallard kicked 
off the building fund and after much organ- 
ization and fund raising, the post bought a 
building from Morton Hospital. Members and 
friends of the Legion made the place very 
comfortable by 1970 and all Legion activities 
have centered around Mill Street since. The 
Post continues to support needy families and 
the Little League. They have also made large 
donations to the Raynham Football Giants 
and numerous charities. 

For many years the Legion has sponsored 
students at Boy's and Girl's State, an honor 
for graduating seniors. They also donate a 



thousand dollar scholarship to the Bridge - 
water-Raynham Citizens Scholarship Fund 
each year. During the March of Dimes Walk- 
a-thon the Legion provides free refreshment 
to the walkers. They also sponsor poster con- 
tests, essay contests and oratorical competi- 
tions. 

The new Post 405 Hall was completed in 
time to provide a perfect setting for Jim 
Hauck's testimonial. It's attractive interior 
and capacity of up to 300 make it ideal for 
town functions. Also available to towns- 
people is the use of the pine grove with its 
picnic benches and twenty foot barbeque pit. 

Post 405 has produced more than its share 
of Raynham folk heros. Among these are 
Postmaster Carl Sherman who always seems 
to be in an active role on committees where 
work is needed. "Mitch" Roscuska who dishes 
out the Friday night clam boils is another 
hard worker. Bill Thomas and Henry Kulak 
served host to the Bicentennial Committee 
during its planning in 1976 dishing out cold 
cuts and cheeses to make the meetings much 
more tolerable. Raynham citizens who haven't 
met Post #405 haven't realized the potential 
of living in Raynham. They don't know what 
they're missing. 




Post #405 American Legion Hall (Tony Riggillo) 



8 



Capeway Route 44 
Businessmen's Association 



Capeway Bowl 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
822-2304 

Slips Capeway Marine Inc. 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
822-6948 

Dean Electronic Center 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
824-4117 

Superior Auto Body Shop 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
824-6050 

United National Bank 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
823-0200 

John Bright Shoe Store 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
822-0203 

Sears Roebuck Co. 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-0701 

Taunton Savings Bank 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-1733 

Fernandes Super Market Inc. 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-4227 

Kentucky Fried Chicken 

Route 44 

Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-3394 

Anderson Toyota Center Inc. 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
823-4544 

Brockton Public Market 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

822-5660 

Tanes on 44 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

824-9141 

First Bristol County National 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-2256 

Donle's Firestone 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

824-8684 

Newfield Insurance Agency, Inc. 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
824-5801 

Sherwin Williams Co. 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
822-7391 



Pirozzi Gulf 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

824-9081 

Brisco Realty 

1 1 Dean Street 

Taunton, Massachusetts 02780 

824-7508 

Heritage Gift Shop 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-7114 

Mobil Service Station 

Route 44, Taunton, Massachusetts 02780 
824-9075 

McDonalds Family Restaurant 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-2022 or 697-3311 

B— Z Cleaning Service 

513 North Main Street 

Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-0189 

Pilgrim Auto 

Route 44, Middleboro, Massachusetts 02346 

947-6802 

Mac's Arco 

Route 44, Taunton, Massachusetts 02780 

822-0487 

Weir Auto Sales 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-1781 

Mello's Package Store 

Route 44, Lakeville, Massachusetts 

947-1144 

Mr. Tony 
Dunkin Do-Nuts 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

824-9302 

Bickfords Pancake House 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
824-4691 

Burger Chef Restaurant 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 
824-8267 

Raynham Tennis Club 

South Street 

Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-7022 

Reliable Fence 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-6552 

Burger King 

Route 44, Raynham, Massachusetts 02767 

823-7007 



9 



Citizens 9 

Scholarship Foundation 

The Citizens' Scholarship Foundation was 
formed in 1962 to grant scholarships to stu- 
dents of the Bridgewater-Raynham Regional 
High School on the basis of merit, with the 
amount of the award based on need. The Citi- 
zens' Scholarship Foundation seeks to help all 
students who are qualified for education be- 
yond high school and are in need; not just 
those students who are at the top of their 
class. In addition, the Citizens' Scholarship 
Foundation seeks to help students obtain 
technical training as well as college degrees. 

The organization is organized without capi- 
tal stock and is operated exclusively for non- 
profit and educational purposes. 

Scholarships are awarded in the name of 
contributors who donate at least $100.00 to 
the Foundation, and the students from the 
regional school participate in the scholarship 
house-to-house drive in April. The money col- 
lected from the house-to-house drive and the 
contributors' donation is awarded to deserv- 
ing students from Bridgewater-Raynham Reg- 
ional High School at graduation. 

Contributors of $100. or more become 
members of the Board of Directors. They may 
also stipulate certain conditions for the award 
recipient including the student's career inten- 
tions and student record. 



10 



Conservation Commission 

by Bernice Fountain 

The commission was established in 1963 
with three members, Jeremiah H. Callahan, 
Richard O'Brien, and T. Richard Leonard. In 
1969 it became a five member board and was 
expanded to seven in 1972. At this time John 
Welch became chairman. In 1972 copies of 
the Natural Resources Study were distributed 
to the schools and the public library. Plans 
for developing a nature trail at the Raynham 
State Forest were completed, a contract for 
the Soil Survey approved at Town Meeting 
was signed, and a program of nature and con- 
servation education for children was begun 
using the land behind the Merrill and Junior 
High Schools. Mrs. Betty Thompson has serv- 
ed as corresponding and recording secretary 
since 1971. 

James M. Carey designed the Commission's 
letterhead. The Commission's aim is to pre- 
serve, protect, and enhance the natural re- 
sources of Raynham. 

Under Art Lazarus, the commission has 
begun administration of the Wetlands Protec- 
tion Act examining sixteen sites and develop- 
ing criteria for recognizing and evaluating 
wetlands. The Raynham State Forest work 
was completed. Surface Water Quality in- 
ventories of the towns rivers, brooks and 
ponds was done by Bridgewater-Raynham 
High School students under the guidance of 
the Science Club sponsor. Administrative 
control of the 180 acre Pine Swamp was 
turned over to the Commission. 8.5 acres of 
woodland bordering the Forge River were 
purchased using money from the previously 
established conservation fund. On this land, 
the site of Raynham 's first iron works, is the 
anchor donated by the United States Navy 
as a memorial to our parent industry. 

The Commission is affiliated with the 
Massachusetts Association of Conservation 
Commissions and is a member of the Massa- 
chusetts Forest and Park Association and the 
Conservation Law Foundation. 

Ongoing activities include gifts of books 
to the library, information distribution to 
the schools with a program of speakers, send- 
ing a 4-H student to a conservation workshop, 
and participation in canoe races. 

Meetings are held at eight o'clock in the 
Junior High teachers' room on the last Thurs- 
day of the month. 

Hearings publicized in the Legal Notice 
section of the Taunton Daily Gazette are held 
in the Junior High All Purpose Room. 

Anyone with a vital interest in conservation 
who is willing to devote some time to it may 
become a member. Associate memberships are 
available to those with the interest but with- 
out the time to attend regular meetings. 



Council on Aging 



Raynham Giants 



The Council on Aging of the Town of 
Raynham was founded in 1972 at the direc- 
tion of the Selectmen. The first meeting was 
held on April 21, 1972 in the Town offices. 
At that first meeting were: Remington Elting, 
chairman; Raymond Milliken, vice-chairman; 
Janice Rylander, secretary and Mary Varao, 
treasurer. Other members were: Newcomb 
Reid, Rev. John P. Christensen and Rev. 
Charles Wakefield. 

Since that first date the Council on Aging 
has met regularly through the ensuing years 
with a very high degree of enthusiasm and 
attendance. Much has been accomplished by 
the Council for the elderly of Raynham. The 
Secretary is apologetic if he slips up and just 
doesn't remember or catch all that has been 
done. 

The Council has sponsored trips, luncheons, 
drop-in center, transportation services, referral 
services, clinics, ID cards, newsletters, card 
files on all over 60 years of age, affiliated with 
CIRCA, Cape and the Islands Regional Coun- 
cils on Aging, applied for State funds, spon- 
sored Cape Cod Senior Citizens' Chorus in 
concert, arranged for discounts for the elderly 
from various businesses, been concerned for 
real estate tax relief for the elderly, been con- 
cerned about Housing for the Elderly, Christ- 
mas remembrances were sent the elderly over 
eighty years of age, and is looking forward to 
Bi-Centennial Week in Raynham to sponsor 
a party for all Senior Citizens sixty years and 
over. 

In the course of time we had two resigna- 
tions from the Council on Aging and lost 
Janice Rylander by death. The Council on 
Aging membership now is as follows: Ralph 
Hagan, chairman; Raymond Milliken, vice- 
chairman; Rev. John P. Christensen, secretary 
and Mary Varao, treasurer. Other members 
are: Remington Elting, Barbara O'Brien and 
Walter Francis. 

The Council takes this opportunity to 
thank any and all who helped in any way 
through these few years to be of assistance 
to the ELDERLY CITIZENS of the Town of 
Raynham. The Council on Aging wishes to 
thank the Selectmen for their continuing sup- 
port without which there would be no pro- 
program in Raynham. 

The Council on Aging pledges itself in this 
year of Bi-Centennialism to be ever alert to 
the needs of the Elderly of this wonderful 
Town. 

Rev. John P. Christensen 
Secretary 



The Raynham Giants Junior Football Team 
was established in the fall of 1970 to teach 
9-13 year old boys the basic fundamentals of 
football. The league consists of six teams 
from the greater Taunton area. Between 
August and November, the Giants play each 
other team in the league twice. Games are 
played on Donald Bryer Field, a regulation 
100 yard field in eight minute quarters with 
modified NCAA rules. Football players, 
cheerleaders, and Pep Squads practice several 
times a week in preparation for Sunday after- 
noon games. Financial support comes from 
donations, dances, and other activities. 

In its short history, the "Big Red" has won 
two league championships and twice been 
runner up. The cheerleaders have won three 
consecutive league cheerleading titles. From 
45-50 boys and girls participate in the pro- 
gram annually. The program is open to all 
children who are ten to thirteen years old. 
Football players must weigh between 75 and 
120 pounds. All must be Raynham residents. 
The team was founded by Don Bryer. Presi- 
dent is Cliff Bettencourt,, Secretary-Treasurer 
is Jack Roche and Head Coach is Mike Fitz- 
simmons. His assistants are Dave Yelle, Neil 
Joseph, Bill Tripp, and Ted Hutchins. Sharon 
Joseph, Pam Taft, and Joan Sypher coach the 
cheerleaders and pep squad. 



11 



Historical Society 



Recognizing the need to preserve data and 
artifacts relating to Raynham and its people, 
a group of interested residents were induced 
to form the Raynham Historical Society. By- 
laws for its orderly functioning were adopted 
and officers elected on June 8, 1972. 

Since that date, growth has been steady to 
the present membership of ninety-eight, eight 
of whom are life members. The six member- 
ship meetings each year have averaged more 
than thirty members in attendance to hear 
programs on a wide variety of historical sub- 
jects. Of equal enjoyment to many is the op- 
portunity for social contact with others 



having common interests. Most of the meet- 
ings are held in the Stone Church, on the 
corner of South Main and Orchard Streets. 

The cataloging of all the local cemeteries 
has been one of the ongoing projects of prime 
historical importance. The Society has good 
copies of an ancient map of the area for sale 
at a nominal price, and shortly will have 
copies of a cookbook of old and tasty recipes 
available. 

A most cordial welcome is extended to all 
interested individuals to visit and participate 
in the activities of the Raynham Historical 
Society. 




Timothy Jones House, oldest home in Raynham owned by Raymond Milliken, Pleasant Street 

(Old Colony Museum) 




Human Services 

The Raynham Human Service Association 
is a Community Growth Center which was 
established in the beginning of January 1974 
with the philosophy of a community oriented 
association. The purpose of the association is 
the coordination of community, state, and 
federal resources for social, recreational and 
counseling activities to help meet the needs of 
the community of Raynham. 

The counseling component of the associa- 
tion includes individual, marital, family, and 
team problem solving counseling. The social 
and recreational activities presently include 
a weekly mother's group, an after school arts 
and crafts program for children in grades 
three through five, and periodical seminars 
which are relevant to the community of 
Raynham. The past and future has and will 
include the continuation of the "Operation 
Green Thumb" garden project, where plots 
are allocated for vegetable growing, and the 
"Task for Teens" project which offers mutual 
benefit for unemployed teenagers and the 
Raynham residents in need of their services. 
The association also has a well established 
thrift shop which is open on Wednesday and 
Saturday. 

The staff at the Raynham Human Service 
Association includes full-time directors, com- 
munity mental health nurse, community 
mental health worker and a part-time staff 
of a psychiatrist and psychologist. All the 
staff members are trained to provide either 
direct counseling services or information and 
referral to proper agencies when necessary. 

The Raynham Human Service Association 
is located at King Philip House on 1 King 
Philip Street off of South Main Street. The 
facility is open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday 
through Friday and the phone number is 
823-7432. For emergencies during the non- 
working hours a hot line staff can be reached 
at 823-5700. The Raynham Human Service 
Association is designed to service the popu- 
lation of Raynham with no eligibility require- 
ments for services. 



Jaycees 



The Raynham Jaycees were founded in 
May 1975 by a group of young men inter- 
ested in the welfare of Raynham. The Rayn- 
ham Jaycees Inc. are affiliated with the Massa- 
chusetts and United States Jaycees. 

The purpose of the Jaycees Organization 
are leadership training, and community devel- 
opment. Leadership training is provided 
through community development activities. 
The typical Jaycee approach to community 
problems is usually more action oriented than 
that of any other organization. The mem- 
bers will, if necessary work thousands of 
hours to actually complete a project. 

Since its inception in May 1975, the 
Raynham Jaycees have been involved in um- 
piring the Little League, running the Cystic 
Fibrosis campaign, a town attitudinal survey 
and have taken a major role in the town's 
Bicentennial celebration. 

The President of the Raynham Jaycees is 
Charles Fallo of 537 Pleasant Street, Internal 
Vice-President is Richard Fiske of 379 Robin- 
son Street, the External Vice-President is 
John Howard of 151 Elizabeth Drive. The 
total membership of the Jaycees for 1976 is 
48 members. Anyone interested in joining 
who is between 18 and 35 years of age can 
contact these officers or write to Raynham 
Jaycees, P.O. Box 207, Raynham Center, 
Mass. 02767. 

In this bicentennial year the Jaycees have 
been instrumental in providing the manpower 
for operation of the parade and in helping 
to carry out several important jobs relative 
to the celebration. Jaycee members have been 
extremely faithful in their attendance at 
Bicentennial Meetings and in following 
through on execution of their assignments. 



13 



Raynham Public Library by Kathleen Roberts 



How long has the Town of Raynham had 
a free public library? 

In tracing the origin and development of 
the library, one finds in Raynham the value 
and pleasure derived from good books and a 
recognition that a town with a library can 
offer more to its citizens was recognized as 
early as April 7, 1888. On that date 93 
citizens signed the library's first report indi- 
cating "We the undersigned of Raynham 
wishing to add to the educational advantages 
of the town, and knowing how great the need 
is of a well-equipped library that shall be free, 
under proper conditions, to every person re- 
gardless of sex, creed, or color, do hereby 
form ourselves into an association for the 



vagrants could put up for the night and get a 
meal. The "Tramp House" was a very small 
building containing two rooms one of which 
was used chiefly for children's books. 

In 1949, the present library building was 
dedicated. In 1961, the library took a step 
forward and transformed the lower floor into 
a Children's Room. Again the rapid growth of 
the town necessitated enlarging facilities. In 
1971, inspired by Past President Alfred Gar- 
shick and Robert Newton, work was begun to 
expand the facilities of the library to its 
present size. 

The library is run by a board of directors 
headed by a president. There have been 21 
presidents over the years, including three 




Raynham Public Library (Tony Riggillo) 



purpose of establishing and maintaining such 
a library, and we individually and collectively 
agree to aid and assist the objects of this 
association to the best of our ability." 

Originally the library was housed in Dean 
Hall which was located on the site of John- 
son's Pone Memorial Park from 1907-1903. 
From 1903 until 1947 the library was housed 
in the town "Tramp House". This house, 
located near the site of the present town of- 
fices, was originally used as a place where 



ladies. Mrs. Kathleen Roberts, the current 
president, has served in that capacity since 
January, 1973. 

The directors are elected from the mem- 
bership of the Raynham Library Association 
consisting of approximately 249 members. 
Any resident of Raynham, interested in help- 
ing the library, is eligible for membership in 
the Raynham Library Association. There is 
always a need for good workers. The Associa- 
tion meets only once a year. The board of 



14 



directors meets at the library seven times a 
year. 

In its infancy, the library association com- 
bined business with pleasure and had money- 
making ventures such as a "pink Tea Party" 
in its first year of its organization. Subse- 
quently such social activities as clam bakes 
and a "Butterfly Party," were held to raise 
funds for the library. 

Activities sponsored by the library in re- 
cent years included travelogues on England, 
Ireland, Africa and Greece. Other features 
offered were talks on Lincoln, King Philip, 
and Sport Broadcasting. Last fall, as part of 
its bicentennial activities, the library pre- 
sented a style show of clothes worn from 
colonial times to the gay nineties. 

The library's most successful programs 
have been those for children. Each year since 
1961 in June the library association has 
sponsored a birthday party for the Children's 
Library. Refreshments, including a large birth- 
day cake, cookies, and punch, are provided 
by association members. New children's 
books are on display. These may be purchased 
for library use. The donor's name is inscribed 
on the fly-leaf of the book. For entertainment 
we have had the Children's Museum Zoomo- 
bile, pet shows, costume parades, bike and 
doll carriage decorating. As many as four 
hundred at one time have participated in 
these birthday parties. 

For several years the teachers of the town 
have presented programs after school, Sat- 
urdays or vacation time for the children at 
the library such as an African safari, Easter 
egg hunt, book binding, making and painting 
plaster of Paris plaques and jewelry, and art 
programs. 

This year the Association started a news- 
letter which is mailed not only to association 
members but to all card-holding families giv- 
ing news of library activities, services, and 
new acquisitions such as the new copying 
machine now the property of the library and 
a permanent feature. 

Current library hours are Monday, Tuesday, 
Wednesday, Thursday, 1 to 8 P.M. and Sat- 
urday from 12 to 5 P.M. 

Mrs. Alice Miller has held the post of librar- 
ian since 1961. Assisting her are Mrs. Marie 
Ventura and Mrs. Marilyn Wood. 

Association officers besides Mrs. Roberts 
are Marilyn Krajcik, 1st Vice President; 
Roberta Rodgers, 2nd Vice President; Maxine 
Englund, Secretary; Donald Guthrie, Treas- 
urer; and directors Evelyn Moura, Janine 
Bowes, Robert Newton, Paull Cushman, 
Reginald Nickerson and Alfred Garshick. 



Little League 

Little League in Raynham started in 1958 
by the American Legion and was sponsored 
by the Raynham Dog Track. The President of 
the League, at that time, was Tony Burgess. 
It was started with 60 boys which made up 
four teams. The managers at that time was 
Carl Sherman, Gus Oliver, Fred Glavin and 
Bill Murby. 

In 1967, Alden Cooley became President 
and Tony Burgess became treasurer, and 
Connie DeSouza was secretary. In 1974, John 
Lynn was elected president, Tom LaFleur was 
vice-president, secretary was Arthur Hubert, 
and Mark Sheehan was treasurer. 

In this bicentennial year, Little League has 
a registration of 409 boys and girls, making 
up 10 major league teams and 14 minor 
league teams. One of the original managers, 
Carl Sherman, is still managing today. The 
officers of Little League today are: 

John Lynn President 

Barry Sanders Vice-President 

Arthur Hubert Secretary 

Mark Sheehan Treasurer 



15 



Raynham Lions Club 

The Raynham Lions Club was founded by 
thirty-eight men at Weonit Hall on February 
13, 1946, making it the oldest service organ- 
ization in town. Lions International is the 
world's largest service organization with clubs 
located in countries throughout the free 
world. Lions have been instrumental in eye 
research programs and in development of new 
ways to treat eye disease and blindness. 

In its thirty years, the Raynham Lions Club 
has provided for hundreds of local needs. In 
its early years, the Lions added valuable as- 
sistance to the public schools donating and 
erecting the first basketball stantions still in 
use behind the North, Center, and South 
Schools. They donated the first movie pro- 
jector used in the schools and operated a 
competitive school spelling bee among the 
three schools the trophy of which was retired 
by the North School. Their Halloween and 
Christmas parties for the youngsters were 
eagerly awaited events in the early fifties. The 
Lions and Legion cooperated to floodlight 
Johnson's Pond for skating and the Lions 
provided instruments for the first school band. 




King Lion David Fisher, Congresswoman Margaret 

Heckler, Kenneth (Cornflakes) Kellogg and his wife 

at the Lion's 30th Anniversary Celebration, 

Carl's Restaurant (Tony Riggillo) 

To finance further service projects, the 
Lions began in 1952 an annual orgy that still 
survives called "The Game Supper" which 
continues to be the local stag special event of 
the winter. Tables are laden with venison, 
bear steak, raccoon, stuffed bass, moose, wild 
goose, wild duck, and the favorite, hunter's 
pie. Occasional surprises such as wild moun- 
tain lion appear along with the traditional 
vegetables and Indian pudding dessert. An- 



other tradition of the Game Supper has been 
the raffle with the stentorian voice of William 
"Bottles" Squires. 

"Bottles" who joined the club in 1955, got 
his nickname from his former ownership of 
the Milk Bottle on Broadway. Lions are quite 
particular about their nicknames, especially in 
Raynham where the practice has achieved 
new "depths". A new member has an oppor- 
tunity to suggest a nickname after which 
nominations are made from the floor with a 
majority vote the deciding factor. Some of 
the more original choices have been Bunker 
Hill, Tax Hall, Pineapple Dole, Stagnant 
Poole, Stinky Thompson, Smoky Januse, 
Popeye Olson, Fig Newton, Habeas Cushman, 
Creeper Briggs, Ding Dong Bellamy, Leaky 
Goslin, Sawdust Williams, Wink Lewis, Choo 
Choo Derby, Greasy Markowski, Boondocks 
Cameron, Zipper Secatore, Shades DeCosta, 
Kingfish Fisher, Red Baron Manning, Corn- 




King Lion for 1976-77 Antone (Shades) DaCosta and 

Senator John Parker at 30th Anniversary 

(Tony Riggillo) 

flakes Kellog, Gassy Seymour, Red Baron 
Manning, Machine Gun Kelly, Hi Ho Tokarz, 
Blueberry Hill, and Robin Hood Waldron. 

The Lions are a service group who enjoy 
socializing. Weonit Hall is long since gone but 
the club has continued its meetings at Gil- 



16 



more Hall, Butterworths, and finally Carls 
where they meet on the first and third Thurs- 
days of each month gathering at 6:30 and 
having dinner at 7:30. Meetings are high- 
lighted with special programs of importance 
and interest to members. 

Lions are men who enjoy diversity. Many 
find Lions a perfect spot to meet different 
kinds of people, to hear differing ideas and 
opinions and to enjoy each others company 
regardless of these differences. Native Rayn- 
hamites whose families have lived here for 
generations mingle with those who moved to 
town last month. Their common bond is a 
community interest. 

This year the Raynham Lions Club spon- 
sors a Little League Team, the Raynham 
Lions who won the championship last year. 
They sponsor a Cub Scout Pack and annually 
donate money to the Boy and Girl Scouts. 
For years they have aided needy families and 
sent annual contributions to Eye Research. 



Since its founding the club has continued 
collection of eyeglasses for use in other coun- 
tries. Last year members built some forty 
chairs for Paul Dever State School. For sev- 
eral years the Lions operated a community 
band which was held together by the leader- 
ship of the late "Doc" Heywood and begun 
by "Buff" Viles. Organizations such as the 
Marathon House and the Raynham Human 
Services Center have also benefitted from 
their help. 

In this bicentennial year the Lions are 
donating invaluable service to Raynham. An 
anchor to commemorate the "Anchor Forge" 
has been donated to the town by the United 
States Navy. The Lions are providing a con- 
crete foundation upon which to rest the 
anchor, transporting it here from Newport, 
R.I. and restoring it to a suitable condition. 
The Lions are also hosting a dance on the 
evening of Saturday, May 15, preceded by 
a chicken barbeque, all as part of the week 
long bicentennial observation. 




Dick (Red Baron) Manning and wife enjoy a hearty chuckle at Lions 30th (Tony Riggillo) 



Last year, the club began an annual Eye Re- 
search Dance to replace the annual light bulb 
sale in raising funds for Eye Research. 

In 1961 the Lions Club began its annual 
scholarship drive which results in a donation 
to a worthy Raynham student. The club 
chooses a committee of citizens to award a 
thousand dollars annually to one or more 
recipients. 



The Lions Club then is a viable force in 
the Raynham of 1976 embodying the "Spirit 
of '76" in its service to the community and 
in its fellowship of men from differing back- 
grounds and occupations. To join the club 
one need only speak to a member. To be a 
Lion is to be concerned, involved, and work- 
ing together with some good fellows for some 
worthy causes. Welcome! 



17 



Raynham Police Department 



by: Detective Michael Folcik 
Raynham Police Dept. 

Prior to 1930, the Town of Raynham had 
no full-time Police Officers or a Police Depart- 
ment. The Town and State Laws were admin- 
istered by Constables appointed on a yearly 
basis by the Board of Selectmen, which gov- 
erned the Town. 

As time went on and the Town grew, Al- 
mond White was appointed the first Police 
Chief in 1930, on a part-time basis. Also at 
this time many part-time Special Police Of- 
ficers were appointed to serve the Chief, but 
there was still no full-time Police force. 




Almon K. White, Raynham's First Police Chief 
(Patrice White) 



In 1952, Russell M. Reid, Jr. was promoted 
from Special Officer to Chief, on a full-time 
basis and was the only full-time officer on 
the force. During the year of 1957, George 
R. O'Brien was promoted from a Special Of- 
ficer to full-time Lieutenant. 

During those days, all Police Department 
business was conducted from the homes of 
Reid & O'Brien. The Police telephones, 
burglar alarms and two way radios were in- 
stalled in both their homes and their wives 
served as dispatchers. The work day con- 
sisted of two shifts of 7:00 A.M. - 7:00 P.M. 
and 7:00 P.M. - 7:00 A.M., seven days a week. 

In 1957, the Town constructed a new 
Town Building on Orchard Street, and the 
first Police Station was included in the rear 
of the building. It consisted of two small 
rooms for office space. At the present time, 
this same station is being utilized by the 
Police Department. 

Since this meager beginning, the Town now 
has a full-time force consisting of eleven men 
including the Chief, who are appointed under 
the rules of Civil Service of the Common- 
wealth of Massachusetts. All the men on the 
Department now receive twelve weeks of 
basic training and specialized training yearly. 
Many of the men on the Department have 
degrees in Law Enforcement or are currently 
attending college. Today, the Town owns 
three Police vehicles which are fully equipped 
for all emergencies. 

Under today's administration of Chief Peter 
King, many changes are being implemented 
for the future, which includes a new Police 
Station with its own lockup, a full-time De- 
tective, and possibly additional manpower. 

Up to this time, Raynham has had a total 
of nine Police Chiefs. A list and dates of of- 
fice is as follows: 

1st Almond White 1930-1934 

2nd Joseph Varo 1935-1936 

3rd Frank Copeland 1936-1940 

4th George Cabana 1941-1942 

5th Harold Whitmarsh 1943-1948 

6th Theodore Hutchins 1949-1951 

7th Russell Reid 1952-1973 

8th George R. O'Brien 1973-1975 

9th Peter King 1975-Present 



18 



Scouting 



TROOP 42 Boy Scouts of America is spon- 
sored by the First Congregational Church in 
Raynham Center. The troop meets with 
Scoutmaster Gordon Francis on Wednesday 
evenings at the Lillie B. Merrill School at 
seven o'clock. Affiliated with Annawaon 
Council in Taunton, as all Cub and Boy Scout 
units in this town are, Troop 42 was organ- 
ized in 1957, making it the oldest active troop 
in town. In its early years, it turned out a 
dozen Eagle Scouts many of who are now in 
successful careers and several of whom are 
finishing their education. Troop 42 empha- 
sizes patrol activities and individual initiative. 
They are an active camping troop in which 
the boys take a large share of responsibility. 
It is the philosophy of the troop that re- 
sponsibility is best learned when it is given. 

TROOP 43 is sponsored by St. Anne's 
Church where its meetings are held each 
Tuesday at seven o'clock. Troop 43 was 
founded in 1962. It's Scoutmaster is Ray- 
mond Bellemore, 1125 Broadway (telephone 
824-6802). The emblem of Raynham's Iron 
Foundry is worn on the neckerchiefs of this 
troop which is one of the top troops in the 
council. 

No article on Scouting in Raynham should 
omit the name of the man who gave much of 
his life to Cubs, Boy Scouts and Explorers, 
Granderson "Gus" Shove. To many, Gus 
Shove was the Mr. Scout in town and we hope 
that a future history of Raynham will utilize 
his background of knowledge for an exciting 
chapter on the history of scouting in town. 

CUB SCOUT PACK 33, Raynham's oldest 
pack is sponsored by the First Congregational 
Church. The pack holds monthly meetings at 
Merrill School and weekly den meetings 
around town. Cubmaster is Mike Pollock of 
Shady Lane. Annual activities include the 
Pinewood Derby where Cubs race their model 
cars down the inclined track after weeks of 
trauma by fathers and mothers at producing 



a winning car. Blue and Gold banquets, 
Christmas Parties, shows, and scouting dem- 
onstrations all highlight the Cub year. 

CUB PACK 43 is sponsored by the Rayn- 
ham Lions Club. The Pack meets at St. Anne's 
Church on the last Thursday of each month. 
Cubmaster is Steve Savina. 

CUB PACK 1 1 meets on the fourth Mon- 
day of the month at seven o'clock at Gilmore 
Hall. Sponsored by the Raynham Police As- 
sociation, the pack is headed by Cubmaster 
Harvey Alden. 

The GIRL SCOUTS of Raynham have a 
most efficient organization. They are affiliat- 
ed with the Plymouth Bay Council. Ten units 
of Brownies, Juniors, Cadettes, and Seniors 
comprise the Raynham Girl Scout program. 
Brownies are from ages six to eight, Juniors 
from nine to eleven, Cadettes from twelve to 
fourteen, and Seniors from fifteen to eighteen. 

A Service Unit coordinates Girl Scout activi- 
ties in Raynham, and acts as liaison with the 
Plymouth Bay Girl Scout Council. President 
of the service unit and liaison to the council is 
Linda Belenger of Carver Street. Joanna 
Alden of Carver Street is Service Unit Admin- 
istrator and Troop organizer. Persons desir- 
ing to enroll their children in the Girl Scout 
Program need only contact Mrs. Alden. 

A Bicentennial booklet's article on Girl 
Scouting would be remiss if it did not men- 
tion the prime Girl Scout leader in Raynham 
who was honored at the Girl Scout National 
Bicentennial Convention this year for her 
fifty years of service to Girl Scouting. The 
author can attest to the dedication of Mrs. 
Frances Hill to Girl Scouting through her 
years of troop leadership. Camp Director- 
ship and individual service to Girl Scouts. 
A future history of Raynham should indeed 
include an article on Girl Scouting with long 
interviews from Mrs. Hill who kept Girl 
Scouting alive here for years. 



19 



Rarnham Soccer League 

The Raynham Soccer League has grown 
during the past four years from two back- 
yard teams of twenty-five boys to more than 
six teams of eighty boys and twenty girls 
and a formalized playing program. 1975 saw 
that program branch out to play teams from 
West and East Bridgewater. In 1976, the 
Raynham Soccer League joined the South 
Shore Soccer League encompassing Brockton, 
Abington, West and East Bridgewater, Bridge- 
water, Foxboro and Rockland. South Shore 
League games will be played on Sunday by 
teams of boys age 8-10, 11-12, and 13-14, and 
girls 8-12. The regular Raynham Soccer 
League games will continue to be played on 
Saturday. 

Gordon Francis (Tel. 823-8317) 



Sociable Seniors 

The Sociable Senior Citizens of Raynham 
was organized in January 1972, under the 
direction of Amelia Coughlin, Gertrude 
Marion, and members of the Taunton Council 
on Aging. 

The first officers were Edward Carr— Presi- 
dent; Ruth Travers— Vice-President; Janice 
Rylander — Secretary, Raymond Milliken — 
Treasurer, and Bernice Fountain chaplain. 

The first regular meeting was held Febru- 
ary 2, 1972 with 25 present. Membership is 
now limited to 125. Those 80 or older may 
be life members paying no dues. Raynham 
residents 60 or older may apply to the mem- 
bership secretary and attend the meetings as 
a guest until acceptance is possible. 

Meetings are held the first and third Wed- 
nesdays at 1:30 in the downstairs of the First 
Congregational Church except for July and 
August. 



20 



Town Meeting, 
Questions and Answers 

What is a town meeting? 

The town meeting is the legislative body of 
the town government just as the State Legis- 
lature and the Congress are legislative bodies 
in state and national governments. However 
the town meeting in Raynham differs in that 
each person represents himself and has a right 
to be heard. 

Who may vote at a town meeting? 

All registered voters in the town may vote. 
Registration of voters closes fourteen days 
prior to a special town meeting and twenty- 
five days before a regular town meeting. 

What is the difference between a regular 
and a special town meeting? 

Regular town meetings are held beginning 
on the third Monday in May for as long as it 
takes to transact the business. Special town 
meetings may be called by the Selectmen 
during the year. 

How are town residents notified of town 
meetings? 

Meetings are posted seven days in advance 
by publication of the warrants in local news- 
papers. 

What is a warrant? 

A warrant is a list of all the articles to be 
voted on at the town meeting. 

Who may place an article on a warrant? 

Any town department may submit an 
article. Any group of twenty voters may also 
submit an article. 



What is the deadline for submission of arti- 
cles for the town meeting? 

All articles to be acted on at the regular 
May town meeting must be submitted to the 
Town Clerk and the Selectmen by February 
10 preceding. All articles to be acted on at 
special town meetings must be submitted at 
least two weeks before the meeting. 

Is discussion allowed at town meeting on 
topics other than the articles on the warrant? 

No discussion is allowed unless it pertains 
to the articles on the warrant. 

What constitutes a quorum at a town meet- 
ing? 

A quorum is the necessary number of 
voters to transact business. There must be at 
least 200 voters present to act on articles deal- 
ing with one thousand dollars or more. A 
quorum of twenty-five voters is sufficient to 
take action on non money articles including 
changes in zoning by-laws and in articles deal- 
ing with sums less than a thousand dollars. 

Who is in charge of the town meeting? 

The Moderator who is elected at the an- 
nual town election presides over the town 
meeting. No one may speak unless recognized 
by the moderator. The moderator has the 
power to limit discussion on articles. Once he 
feels that all sides of a question have been 
raised and that further discussion is only 
repetitious he may call for a vote. 




Board of Selectmen L-R: Don McKinnon, Executive Secretary Brian Newton, 
Don Francis, Harry Carey (Tony Riggillo) 



21 



Can a voter at the town meeting call for a 
vote? 

Yes, a voter who feels that discussion has 
been exhausted on an article may move the 
question. The moderator will hear a second 
on the question and determine himself 
whether it is a fair time to vote after which 
he may allow a vote on the question and an 
immediate vote on the article. 

How can a voter interrupt action when he 
feels that an insufficient amount of time has 
been provided in which to explore the issues 
of an article? 

The voter can call for a POINT OF ORDER 
which implies that the meeting has deviated 
somewhat from proper order in not allowing 
a side to be heard. A point of order must 
cease all action at the town meeting until it 
has been clarified and acted upon by the 
moderator. 

What recourse does a voter have who feels 
that the moderator does not deal fairly with 
his powers? 

The voter can support another candidate 
for moderator in the town election or run 
himself for the seat. 

Is it possible to change the figures in a 
money article? 

Yes, a money article can be amended 
downward all the way to zero but proposed 
budgets may not be increased by the town 
meeting. A new budget with increased figures 
must be prepared and submitted to a suc- 
cessive town meeting to accomplish this. 

What is reconsideration? 

Reconsideration is an action of the town 
meeting requiring a two thirds majority that 
can bring up an article previously acted upon 
in that meeting. Once the article has been 
passed for reconsideration by the two thirds 
vote, it stands as if it were a new article, not 
before voted upon. 

When is an article safe from reconsidera- 
tion? 

It is safe after reconsideration has been 
moved and defeated. 

Is it necessary to move for an article to be 
defeated in order to dismiss it? 

No. It is sufficient to vote down the mo- 
tion to accept the article. 

Who may make a motion? 

Any voter may move an article or second 
it. Once an article is moved and seconded it 
is open for discussion after which a vote is 
taken. 

How may votes be taken? 
A moderator has three options. He can call 
for a voice vote which he determines by its 



sound volume. If a shouting match ensues the 
moderator may call for a standing vote in 
which he will appoint tellers to count the 
house. At the request of a voter or in ques- 
tions of personal nature, he may call for a 
secret ballot which will be distributed, col- 
lected, and counted. Obviously the moderator 
will seek to determine most votes by voice in 
the interests of brevity. The moderator is em- 
powered to decide whether a voice vote is 
in the affirmative or the negative but reason- 
able challenges can result in standing or secret 
votes. 

What roll does the finance committee play 
in the annual town meeting? 

The finance committee in Raynham is an 
appointed body whose duty is to review the 
proposed expenditures of town departments 
and make a judgement as to whether or not 
the town should attempt to meet these ex- 
penses. Ideally, a finance committee should 
have a member who becomes an expert in 
the budget of each department. If questions 
on the budget are answered by a finance com- 
mittee member who has studied the budget, 
he is apt to be much more objective in his 
answer than a member of the department who 
has submitted the budget. However, the bud- 
get making process has become complex and 
many times department heads are the only 
ones qualified to speak on their budgets. It is 
in the best interest of citizens for them to 
become as well informed about all depart- 
ment budgets as they can. Some departments 
such as the school department hold separate 
budget hearings for informational purposes. 

How is the school budget different from 
other department budgets? 

Obviously it is considerably higher. But the 
most important consideration is that a school 
budget may not be reduced by a town meet- 
ing except by the town placing itself in the 
jeopardy of a ten taxpayer suit and a resulting 
court fine of up to 25% of the total budget. 

What recourse does a voter have who feels 
that the school committee is overspending? 

He should either run for school committee 
himself or back a candidate who shares his 
philosophy. 

Why must the town vote money for the 
American Legion and the VFW? 

It is a state law that they must take this 
action annually. 

Why is the dog fund paid to the public 
library? 

It is a tradition peculiar to Raynham to 
turn the dog fund over to the library and no 
article has ever been prepared in recent mem- 
ory to pay the dog fund anywhere else. 



22 



The Iron Works by Richard w. hhi 

The first industry established in the old 
colony of Plymouth was the iron industry. 
Eastern Massachusetts had an abundance of 
iron ore in swamps, along river banks and on 
the bottoms of ponds. John Winthrop, first 
Governor of Massachusetts Bay urged the 
establishment of furnaces to smelt this ore 
and around 1643, Scot laborers who were 
actually prisoners taken by Oliver Cromwell 
in the English Civil War were brought to 
Massachusetts and furnaces were built, first 
at Saugus in 1647, and later at Braintree in 
1649. These enterprises quickly ran short of 
iron ore and within two years the fires at 
Saugus died. 



status to the clergy who were the upper strata 
of the seventeenth century. Production was 
dependent upon a ready supply of ore and a 
constant source of charcoal. Scot colliers were 
specialized in the production of charcoal. 
They cut the trees for acres around the fur- 
nace, sawing them into suitable lengths and 
stacking them carefully into a pile over which 
was placed clumps of sod. Once the kiln was 
prepared, the firing was ready. When the col- 
lier started his fire he had to guard it closely 
day and night. There was always the danger 
of it burning too fast and destroying the char- 
coal. Then, the fire might also extinguish. It 
had to burn slowly and constantly, baking 




House of James Leonard shown around 1890, built in 1653, first house built in Raynham 

(Old Colony Museum) 



Meanwhile in the new settlement of Taun- 
ton bought from Massasoit in 1630, for two 
shillings an acre, iron ore was found in quan- 
tity on the banks of the Two Mile River in 
what is now Raynham. 600 pounds were 
raised and a stock company organized that 
included the most prominent Plymouth Col- 
ony and Bay Colony citizens. In 1652, James 
and Henry Leonard and Ralph Russell, form- 
erly in the Braintree works moved to the Two 
Mile River, built a home, and began construc- 
tion of a furnace. By 1656, the furnace pro- 
duced its first iron ware. 

Iron production was the most sophisti- 
cated process of its day and the "Ironmaster" 
as James Leonard was called was equal in 



the impurities out of the wood and turning 
it into pure charcoal. 

The furnace was an imposing affair. The 
chimney rose some thirty feet in the air and 
was so constructed that wagons could be 
backed to the top of it and ore shoveled di- 
rectly down the smoke stack. Once the fur- 
nace was charged, it burned twenty-four 
hours a day. Starting the fires was a complex 
process and they could seldom if ever be al- 
lowed to burn out. The charcoal would be 
placed in the chimney first followed by the 
bog ore and a fluxing agent such as sea shells 
that helped the ore separate from the dirt. 
Massive blasts from a huge bellows tripped 
by a water wheel directed more oxygen into 



23 



the furnace and the flames that belched from 
the stack could be seen for miles around. 

After the iron melted, it settled to the 
bottom of the furnace with the impure mater- 
ials known as slag rising to the top. The slag 
was raked off and piled in the huge heaps that 
now cross South Street. A tap in the bottom 
of the furnace was opened and the molten 
iron ran out into a large hole dug in the sand, 
(a sow) and trickled out of this into smaller 
molds (pigs). Here it was allowed to cool and 
harden. These lumps of pure iron were now 
ready for their chemical change into a primi- 
tive steel. 

The pig iron was lifted from the sand and 
carried to the "Bloomerie", a separate shop 
nearby that contained a gigantic trip hammer 



In early Taunton, iron soon became a cur- 
rency in which taxes and salaries were paid. A 
visitor to Taunton in 1660 described it as "a 
pleasant place, seated among the windings and 
turnings of a handsome river, and hath good 
conveyance to Boston by cart." By 1670, 
Taunton was the richest town in Plymouth 
Colony. 

But King Philip's War soon changed this. 
The fires were allowed to burn out. Colliers 
refused to cut wood with the Indian menace. 
And two years passed before iron production 
resumed. 

But through the seventeenth and into the 
eighteenth century the industry continued. 
Its predecessors having given up, and its suc- 
cess assured, we can rightfully claim for our 




View of the trip hammer from the Old Raynham Forge taken in 1880 
Note the trips on the shaft that lifted the beam holding the hammer (Old Colony Museum) 



operated through a system of trips on a shaft 
from a water wheel. The pig iron was reheated 
in a hot fire and held under a hammer that 
beat it into a red hot pancake shape that 
glowed with its heat and "bloomed". In this 
process, carbon was being combined with the 
iron to make it much stronger and ready to 
withstand much wear. The blooms were then 
fashioned into nails, spikes, kettles, skillets, 
anchors, chains, and wheel covers. For a per- 
fect understanding of this process, the reader 
is urged to visit the iron works restoration in 
Saugus run by the National Park Service. 



parent industry, the title of the first suc- 
cessful ironworks in America. 

By 1731, when Raynham separated from 
Taunton, many of the stock holders were liv- 
ing in Raynham. John Wales, Raynham's first 
minister married the granddaughter of James 
Leonard. The first Raynham meeting house 
was built a short distance from the iron works 
in 1731 and used until 1773. 

The Taunton River offered perfect trans- 
portation opportunities both for export of 
iron ware and import of ore once the supply 



24 



in the immediate area was gone. By 1767, 
however, the supply of good ore was at a 
premium. By this time iron manufacturers 
were common throughout Southeastern Mas- 
sachusetts. Carver, Middleboro, Taunton, 
Norton and Easton all had one of more fur- 
naces most founded by children or grand- 
children of James Leonard. The shares in the 
Raynham business began to depreciate in 
value. So after three generations of Leonards 
had supervised this enterprise, it was sold to 
Josiah Dean. 

Dean began a nail works and a rolling mill. 
He also set up a manufactory for copper bolts 



but it was chiefly out of bog ore, until that 
kind was much exhausted in these parts, and 
then a rich treasure was opened in Middle- 
boro, which had been long hid from the in- 
habitants. About the year 1747, it was dis- 
covered there was an iron mine in the bottom 
of our great pond at Assowamset; and after 
some years, it became the main ore that was 
used in the town, both at furnaces and forges, 
and much of it has been carried into the 
neighbouring places for the same purpose. 
Men go out with boats, and make use of 
instruments much like those with which 
oysters are taken to get up the ore from the 
bottom of the pond. 




Raynham 's First Meeting House built on Richmond Street in 1731 (Old Colony Museum) 



to be used in ship building, the first such 
production in Southeastern Massachusetts. 
Bolts for the first sloops and frigates of the 
fledgling United States Navy were cast here. 
He continued in this line of business until 
1825. 

A letter on the subject of iron ore was 
written in Middleboro by the Reverend Isaac 
Backus on July 25, 1794. 

"Vast quantities of iron, both cast and 
wrought, have been made in this part of the 
country, for more than a hundred years past; 



I am told that, for a number of years, a 
man would take up and bring to shore, two 
tons of it in a day; but now it is so much ex- 
hausted, that half a ton is reckoned a good 
day's work for one man. But in an adjacent 
pond is now plenty, where the water is 
twenty feet deep, and much is taken up from 
that depth, as well as from shoaler water. It 
has also been plenty in a pond in the town of 
Carver, where they have a furnace upon the 
stream which runs from it. Much of the iron 
which is made from this ore is better than 



25 




Ruins of Anchor Forge shown in 1 880 (Old Colony Museum) 



*.vj.- . : > 




Marker on Site of Old Iron Works (Tony Riggillo) 



26 



they could make out of bog ore, and some 
of it is as good as almost any refined iron . . ' 

The above letter sheds some light on one 
of the sources of ore that kept the Raynham 
fires burning so much longer than those in 
surrounding towns. 

In 1825, Major Eliab Dean took charge of 
the plant and converted to the sole manu- 
facture of anchors in which the works contin- 
ued until 1876 when cheaper and more 
modern steel making processes in Pittsburg 
and elsewhere forced the local iron manu- 
facturers out of business. 

For 51 years, the Anchor Forge produced 
anchors for seagoing vessels in Taunton and 
up and down the coast. Civil War contracts 
with the United States Navy saw several 
anchors cast for use on ironclad Monitors. 



And in 1976, the Navy took the occasion to 
send an anchor back to Raynham. 

Much more has to be written about these 
iron works. There is a wealth of social history 
in court records. Samuel Eliot Morison in his 
Story of OLD COLONY OF NEW PLY- 
MOUTH, describes the humor with which a 
Plymouth Court dealt with a Scot's servant. 
It seems that this Scot employed at the iron 
works, seduced a young Irish married woman 
when her husband was absent. The court 
found the pair guilty, and the husband too, 
for leaving his wife alone and "exposing her 
to temptation." So all three, husband, wife, 
and lover, sat in the stocks side by side. 

Old Colony museum contains the complete 
records of the iron works a collection that 
should be researched and published for our 
further understanding of the unique heritage 
of Raynham. 



27 



Toby Gilmore 



By William F. Hanna 

The passage of time obscures men and 
events, sometimes making history and legend 
so intertwined as to be almost inseparable. 
On the stage of great events the deeds of 
heroes appear even more daring, while the 
infamy of villains seems all the more treacher- 
ous. Legend embroiders the fabric of history. 
So it may have been with Toby Gilmore and 
his role in the American Revolution. 

It is a fact that the boy who became Toby 
Gilmore lived the first sixteen years of his 
life in Africa, the son of a local chieftain. His 
name was Shibodee Turrey Wurry and as he 
developed physically it became apparent that 
he was also a boy of intelligence. One day, in 




Hat worn by Toby Gilmore during the Revolution 
(Tony Riggillo) 

the year 1758, the young man was captured 
by slave merchants and forced aboard a ship 
bound for Virginia. The trip across the At- 
lantic was not an easy one, for the ship was 
heavily damaged by storms and put into the 
harbor at Newport, Rhode Island for emer- 
gency repairs. The ship's master decided to 
sell off some of his human cargo in order 
to better finance the work. 

In the crowd of curious onlookers that 
day was Captain John Gilmore, of Rayn- 
ham. He had been trading in the vicinity 
of Egg Harbor and eventually found him- 
self in the midst of a slave auction. When 
Shibodee Turrey Wurry was led to the auc- 



tioneer's block Captain Gilmore cast the 
deciding bid and became the boy's owner. 
In olden times it was common for a slave 
to take the family name of his master, thus 
Shibodee Turrey Wurry was renamed Toby 
Gilmore. 

The new master of the Gilmore house- 
hold was well treated. He was given im- 
portant responsibilities in the operation of 
the farm on Britton Street and eventually 
became a trusted member of the family. 

As Toby Gilmore was growing to man- 
hood in Raynham events elsewhere were 
leading the country inevitably toward war. 
Relations between England and her colon- 
ies in America were strained beyond en- 
durance and it was no surprise that open 
warfare broke out in April of 1775. These 
were times when men put away the tools 
of farming and took up the tools of war. 




"Old Tobey" the field piece given Toby at the 

close of the Revolution as displayed in the military 

room of the Old Colony Museum (Tony Riggillo) 

The activities of some of the participants 
in the American Revolution were well docu- 
mented. Other soldiers, however, labored in 
relative obscurity, and the tales of their 
service which later arose sometimes appear 
to be in conflict with official records. This 
is the case with some of Toby Gilmore's 
reported experiences in the struggle for 
independence. 



28 



The legend of Toby Gilmore is well known. 
It holds that sometime in 1776, Captain John 
Gilmore was drafted into the army. Toby, 
now thirty years old, volunteered to go in 
his master's place in return for his freedom. 
Toby, the story goes, was assigned to the 
staff of General David Cobb, a Taunton of- 
ficer who was serving on General Washing- 
ton's staff. Reportedly Washington was so 
impressed with Toby's efficiency and loyal- 
ty that he prevailed upon Cobb to allow the 
former slave to become a part of the com- 
mand staff. Thus Toby Gilmore became 
Washington's own servant, attending to his 
needs throughout the trying years of war. 

Toby Gilmore's military record casts some 
doubt on this story. Legend has it, for in- 
stance, that Toby was with Washington that 
freezing night in December of 1776, when 
the Americans crossed the Delaware River 
on their way to a stunning victory at Tren- 
ton. Records show, however, that when this 
occurred Captain Jonathan Shaw's company, 



of which Toby was a member, was on duty 
in Warren, Rhode Island. 

Toby Gilmore's service with General Cobb 
is also left open to some uncertainty. The 
latter began his career under Colonel Thomas 
Marshall, of the Tenth Massachusetts Regi- 
ment. He later enlisted to serve under Colonel 
Henry Jackson in the Sixteenth Massachu- 
setts Regiment. This group, known as the 
Boston Regiment, devoted most of its time 
to the defense of that city, though it did also 
see some action at the Battle of Monmouth 
as well as at Quaker Hill, Rhode Island. In 
these years, Cobb's promotion to the com- 
mand of a brigade was still several months 
away, as was his future association with 
George Washington. 

Toby Gilmore was not listed as a member 
of either the Tenth or the Sixteenth Massa- 
chusetts Regiments. Instead his military 
records show that from September 19, 1777 
to December 31, 1779, he was in the service 
of Captain James Cooper's company of the 




f t '# 



yp** \*s^ 



First home of Toby and Rosanna Gilmore built around 1 785 owned by Richard Hill, 1681 Broadway 

(Tony Riggillo) 



29 






Home built by Toby and Squire Gilmore around 1800 which burned in 1918 (Old Colony Museum) 



Fourteenth Massachusetts Regiment, serving 
at Ticonderoga, White Plains, Fort Clinton, 
and West Point. Thus it cannot be established 
that David Cobb and Toby Gilmore ever 
served together. 

General David Cobb was assigned to Gen- 
eral Washington's staff on June 15, 1781. 
Toby Gilmore's exact location at this time 
is not known, so there is a remote possibility 
that he was with Washington and Cobb. How- 
ever, he was back in Massachusetts on Sep- 
tember 21, 1781 because records show that 
on that day he enlisted to serve with Captain 
Daniel Drake's company at the North River 
in Marshfield, Massachusetts. Toby Gilmore 
stayed there until December 6, 1781, when 
he left the service to return to civilian life. 

After completing his military service Toby 
Gilmore led a full and successful life. When 
he returned to Raynham he purchased forty- 
five acres of land formerly owned by John 



Borland, a descendant of Elizabeth Pole. 
During the American Revolution, Borland's 
sympathies had been with the British, and 
because of this he found it necessary to run 
for his life. His land was confiscated and 
auctioned off. The highest bidder was Toby 
Gilmore. On the land the former slave built 
a beautiful house in which he and his wife, 
the former Rosanna Hack, of Taunton, raised 
eight children. 

Toby Gilmore died in 1812. Each year 
before his death, he would celebrate Inde- 
pendence Day by dragging an old cannon 
down to the Taunton Green where he would 
load and fire it fourteen times. Thirteen 
salutes were discharged for each of the 
original states, and the last and loudest was 
for General Washington. Some said that the 
old field piece was given to Toby by Gen- 
eral Washington himself, as a token of ap- 
preciation. This, however, seems unlikely. 



30 




Toby Gilmore 
and His Legends 



A rubbing of Toby Gilmore's stone by Dora Pine 

Nevertheless, Toby Gilmore's participation 
was sought by his fellow townsmen when- 
ever an event of a patriotic nature was ap- 
proaching. He was a respected and valued 
member of his community. 

Although Toby Gilmore's friendship with 
General Washington is probably more legend 
than fact, his very real contributions to the 
American cause should not be overlooked. He 
was willing to give over two and one half 
years to the fight for liberty, serving ably and 
well, and for that he deservedly takes his 
place among the Revolutionary War heroes 
of Raynham. 



By Richard W. Hill 

Having grown up in North Raynham on 
the land once owned by Toby and subse- 
quently moved into his first house, I have 
developed a personal interest in the facts 
and fables surrounding Raynham's favorite 
folk hero. I remember from boyhood one 
Bill Hoxie, an elderly man now blind, living 
alone in the woods behind the trailer park. 
Bill cared for two young orphans who ran 
around with our group so we all got to meet 
him. It was Bill who told me my first stories 
about Toby. Bill had known Toby's children 
and grandchildren. He had grown straw- 
berries and apples on the old Gilmore land 
grant. And he had farmed his life through 
in North Raynham. 

Apparently, the one most responsible for 
the local fame of Toby Gilmore was Toby 
himself. He must have been quite a story 
teller and we can picture him in his later 
years on the front porch of his big house 
(which burned in 1918) surrounded by 
children and grandchildren spinning his 
yarns of what was not a totally uneventful 
life. 

Slaves, rum, and molasses brought Toby 
to America. Newport's "Golden Age" of 
prosperity was brought about and peaked 
just before the Revolution by this triangular 
trade. The Newport rum was first intro- 
duced to Africa in 1723 and before long 
twenty-two Newport distilleries were dis- 
gorging thousands of hogsheads of rum for 
the slavers. The average slaver was from 40 
to 50 tons with a small crew, usually a cap- 
tain, a mate, a cooper, two men, and a boy. 

A slave ship entering the trade in 1750, had 
to be fitted with handcuffs, medicines, bread, 
flour, pork, beef, tobacco, tar, sugar and tal- 
low. The rum cargo would run about 8000 
gallons on a 60 ton vessel. The voyage from 
Newport to Africa took from six to ten 
weeks. The crew busied themselves cutting 
planks to form a slave deck. As the Newport 
"Rum Vessel" (as it was known up and down 
the coast of Guinea) arrived, word spread of 
their approach and white "Governors" who 
lived along the shore trading in slaves prepar- 
ed for a sale. 

Newport captains usually bought their 
slaves from middlemen who had bought from 
the governors although at times the captains 
were known to have traded directly with 
African native chieftains who had captured 



31 



their victims in war or obtained them by 
raiding peaceful villages. Trading took place 
after the initial banquet provided by New- 
porters for their clients. Rum flowed freely 
at these affairs but the Newport men mixed 
their's with lime juice or water while the 
slave owners took their rum straight. 

After the purchase, slaves were branded on 
the body with a branding iron. "P" was the 
symbol for the slave who was to be separated 
from the commercial cargo to be retained by 
the captain or for his employer. 

The slaves were packed tightly in between 
decks while the crew slept above in "dog- 
houses" temporary shacks built on deck. The 
slave space was not over three and a half feet 
high. The males were shackled in pairs with 
the left ankle of one shackled to the right 
ankle of the next, with a yoke iron stapled 
to the planking between them. Women and 
children would be equally crowded behind 
a screen, but without chains. This is where 
Toby at age 12-14 would have been kept. 



in handcuffs while the crew went below to 
swab out the quarters with vinegar. Many a 
cabin boy made his retirement decision at 
this point. It is written that the odor of a 
slaver was distinguishable five miles down 
wind. 

The slaver usually reached the West Indies 
with a mortality rate of 8-10% with deaths 
usually due to diseases, changes of food and 
climate, exposure, accident, manslaughter, 
and suicide. The captain would elect, depend- 
ing on market conditions, to trade directly 
for molasses or sell for cash and buy the 
molasses. 

The molasses odor permeated the ship by 
the time it reached Newport removing most 
traces of the slaves. Profits were enormous. 
The sloop ADVENTURE netted 14,000 
pounds profit in 1774 from a cargo of 64 
slaves. Owners profits were anywhere from 
500 to 2000 pounds. Of course, it was this 
slave money that financed the fortunes of 
Abraham Redwood, William Ellery, John 




Home ofOthniel Gilmore shown around 1900 at Broadway and Gilmore Streets (Old Colony Museum) 



This middle passage from Africa to the 
West Indies lasted about seven weeks. Slaves 
were fed ten at a time twice a day with slab- 
ber sauce made of flour, water, palm oil, and 
pepper. Thumbscrews were used to punish 
rebellious slaves and iron opens were used 
to force them to eat if necessary. At times, 
all of the slaves were brought out on deck 



Channing, and Aaron Lopez. Their money 
built Trinity Church, the town library, and 
many mansions of Colonial Newport. The 
British blockade during the Revolution ended 
the slavers days. 

Newport had more Negroes than any other 
New England city but few slaves were taken 
along to Newport from the West Indies. Slave 



32 



labor was never very profitable in Rhode 
Island and white servants were preferred. 
There were several slave markets around 
Newport of which Egg Harbor was one. 

Who were these slave traders and how 
could they traffic in humans and live with 
themselves? Actually before the Revolution 
the slave trade was regarded as honorable a 
vocation as lumering or fishing. Many thought 
of it as a means of christianizing a race 
"plunged in heathen darkness". Others thank- 
ed God on returning from a voyage that "an- 
other cargo of beknighted beings had been 
brought to a land where they could benefit 
of Gospel dispensation." 

So was Toby Gilmore's boyhood. His 
father was rumored to have been an African 
chieftain. John Gilmore's wife taught Toby 
reading and writing and treated him as a son. 
The Gilmores had no children of their own. 
Thus Toby was raised in an atmosphere of 
love and respect that led to his volunteering 
for service in place of his seventy year old 
father who in 1776, was being drafted by the 
State Militia. 



proudly displays, "Old Toby", and a bounty 
with which he bought his land. 

His first house which is where I write this 
was built around 1784, a plank affair with 
12" x 12" corner posts and beams, planks 
nailed vertically into place both on the ex- 
terior and in dividing the rooms. Originally 
a three or four room Cape, Toby's house had 
a large kitchen with the beehive oven which 
we recently restored. The large kitchen fire- 
place fronted a chimney with three other 
fireplaces, two in the front rooms and one 
upstairs. Toby's family grew fast and before 
long, with the help of his son, Squire (1784- 
1864), he built a large Federal house well 
back from the road. 

It was Bill Hoxie and Maude Lincoln, both 
who told me that Toby planted an oak tree 
in his front yard which grew to the enormous 
Toby Oak of today. Whether or not the Toby 
Oak is fact or fiction, I have always accepted 
it. As children, we climbed on it, built tree 
houses in it and on at least one occasion, 
played hookey in it. It is massive and at 
least 200 years old. Gilmore could have 




Toby's Grave at the North Raynham Cemetery with stones of his children in the background (Tony Riggillo) 



As to Toby's exploits of war, we are open 
to further research. The service records are 
very misleading as men were often recorded 
as having participated in an engagement solely 
for the pay they could get. We know that over 
25,000 men filed for pay after Lexington and 
Concord. Toby was not one of these. But 
after his service in the war, Toby was given a 
field piece which the Old Colony Museum 



planted it in his front yeard. The Toby Oak 
is now in the front yard of Mrs. Warren Hill 
still stretching its boughs out over a half an 
acre. Hoxie said that the cannon was kept 
there by Samuel Gilmore (1816-1907) who he 
knew quite well and that he witnessed it 
taking two fingers off an unfortunate youth 
who stood too close to the firing. A recent 
Gazette article indicates that Taunton found 



33 



the cannon in Raynham after widespread 
searching for use in its 1876 festivities. Could 
they have found it in Raynham under the 
Toby Oak? 

Toby's seven children and their children 
settled around the neighborhood and in time, 
Gilmoreville was the black section of Rayn- 
ham. All of its citizens were farmers and we 
know that Squire Gilmore became quite well 
to do in later life. 

Toby died in 1812, but his wife survived 
until 1857. Toby and several of his children 
and grandchildren are buried in the North 
Raynham Cemetery. His estate as recorded 
in the Bristol County Probate Records gives 
us a fascinating picture of the man and his 
time. 



ESTATE OF TOBY GILMORE 

Real: 

Homestead farm containing 35 acres 

with the buildings thereon 

standing $2,360.00 

2 acres of meadow at Nunketty Pond 60.00 
2 acres of swamp on the Burnt Ground 10.00 

2 acres of swamp at Flag Hole 130.00 

Personal: 

one yolk of oxen, 4 cows 100.00 

3 heifers, 1 horse 32.00 
1 hog, 10 bushels of corn 18.00 
farming utensils 30.00 
one note 3% stock 96.84 
one note deferred stock 64.56 
one note (unintelligible) debt 129.12 
one turnpike share 148.00 



1 bed & furniture 25. 2 beds 

& furniture® 15. 55.00 

1 table, 1 chair, 1 looking glass 7.00 

Ironware, tinware, chair 12.00 
four wheels, one loom, 

chest of drawers 18.00 

40 pounds geese feathers 30.00 

two chests and meat tubs 9.00 

one bible 4. and other books 3. 7.00 
two pairs of sheets, one table 

cloth, two towels 8.00 
two pairs pillow cases, crockery ware 50.00 

one table, one toilette 3.00 

wearing apparel 11.00 

The fact of black families living in freedom 
in a community within Raynham during the 
age of the Fugitive Slave Law gives rise to 
much conjecture about their role in the 
"Underground Railway". It is interesting to 
note two prospective hiding places for fugi- 
tives in the Toby House. Between the chim- 
ney system is a small area that would offer 
ideal concealment. And in the crawl space 
under the house, there is, under the chimney, 
a type of stone room with shelves niched 
into the rocks. Future research on the role of 
Raynham blacks in the 1850's could prove 
quite rewarding. 

By the early twentieth century, all of 
Toby's heirs were dead. But his home and the 
land around it remained in the hands of those 
who had known his sons and grandchildren. 
The legends that they passed along to me have 
been set down here in hopes that some day 
they can be researched and the truth finally 
found. 



34 



Perez Fobes and 
His 1793 History 

By Richard W. Hill 

Taunton's distinguished historian, Samuel 
Hopkins Emery collected a two volume hist- 
ory of Taunton area church history and had 
it published in 1853 by the John P. Jewett 
Company of Boston. The second volume of 
this set contains a chapter on the ministry 
of Raynham which includes a section on Dr. 
Perez Fobes by his grandson, Theophilus P. 
Doggett. The Fobes family were original 
proprietors of Bridgewater where Perez was 
born on September 21, 1742, son of Josiah 
Fobes and eventually one of twelve children. 

Fobes is described as a child having "physi- 
cal feebleness and want of health". It would 
seem that his love for literature and study 
grew from much forced idleness due to sick- 
ness. At the age of thirteen, Perez was en- 
trusted with the position of teacher of his 
neighborhood school. In 1762, he received 
his first degree from Harvard. And on Nov- 
ember 19, 1766, he was ordained a min- 
ister of Christ to the church and society of 
Raynham. In 1777 he volunteered as chap- 
lain in the Continental Army. Doctor Mann- 
ing, president of Brown University in 1786, 
was elected to the newly established Ameri- 
can Congress and Doctor Fobes was called 
to serve as President of Brown during Mann- 
ing's absence. The next year he was chosen 
a Professor of Experimental Philosophy. 
In 1792, he received Brown's highest honors 
and shortly after was chosen a member of 
the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. 
In 1796, he joined the Board of Trustees of 
the newly formed Bristol Academy of which 
his son- in- law, Simeon Doggett was the first 
headmaster. 

Soon after the beginning of his Raynham 
ministry, Fobes began a school for young 
men in his house where he taught literature, 
science, and theology. Reverend Robert 
Carver of Raynham remarked in 1853 that 
Fobes "took great interest in education, and 
succeeded, I am told, in infusing a portion of 
his own interest into the minds of youth. It 
is said, the schools in this town during Doctor 
Fobes' ministry, and principally by his 
agency, were of a higher order than in ad- 
jacent towns." 

Fobes devotes considerable space in his 
1793 History of Raynham to the town's 
educational accomplishments. He was ob- 
viously well read for his time, equally familiar 
with the Bible, Shakespeare, Pope, Blair, 
Barrow, Tillotson, Sherlock, Price, Paley, 



Johnson, and Addison. As a writer, he re- 
flected the best of his time. His sermons 
were written rapidly with much left to be 
filled extemporaneously. 

As a pulpit orator, Fobes had few equals. 
It is said that his clear, sweet, strong voice 
generated interest and passion upon the 
listener. Doggett relates that during one of 
his eloquent prayers calling for an end to a 
parching dry spell, "the land was suddenly 
overclouded and suffering vegetation was 
refreshed by a most copious rain . . ." He 
was noted for his great tact and his ability 
to communicate to all, "at the fireside, or 
in the shop, on the field, or in the street . . . 
he possessed the faculty of adapting himself 
to every variety of character ... to a man of 
refined taste and extensive reading, and to 
the man of humbler capacity and limited 
attainments". 

Astronomy was his favorite study to which 
he devoted many leisure hours. His self made 
orrery was a curiosity of all his "friends of 
science". 

He also cultivated a small botanical garden 
collecting all the known flowers indigenous 
to Raynham. 

He was married to Prudence Wales, daugh- 
ter of Raynham's first minister, John Wales. 
As Raynham's second and most famous min- 
ister, Fobes was a leading theologian of his 
day. His writings included numerous sermons 
and a highly praised Scripture Catechism. 

The sermon Fobes delivered in Taunton 
on November 11, 1786 at the execution of 
24 year old John Dixon for burglary will 
give a clear insight into the theology of the 
times. 

". . . In this pitiable object, who stands 
before us, we behold, at once, an instance 
of the folly and wickedness of human 
nature and a moving spectacle of wonder 
and horror to the world, to angels, and to 
men. 

Before the sun goes down, his body now 
vigorous and active, will be a lifeless ghast- 
ly corpse, coffined and buried deep down 
among the sheeted dead . . . 
Your appointed time on earth has come, 
and die you must in all the bloom and 
vigor of youth with breasts full of milk 
and your bone moistened with marrow. 
Today you must appear before the judge- 
ment seat of Christ; a God all mercy, and 



35 



too indulgent to punish the wicked can 
never be found .... 

I most gladly say, 'Believe on the Lord 
Jesus Christ; if thou believest with all 
thine heart, thou shalt be saved . . .! 

Look on this criminal and believe that he 
who pursueth evil pursueth it to his own 
death . . . beware, especially beware of 
gaming and that intemperate use of spirit- 
uous liquors to which this ill fated youth 
was so infamously addicted, and which, 
by the confession of his own mouth, had 
the principal hand in bringing him to this 
miserable end . . . Who hath woe? Who 
hath sorrow? Who hath contentions? Who 
hath Babbling? Who hath wounds, with 
and without a cause? Who hath redness 
of eyes? Who are poor and steal, and take 
the name of the Lord in vain? Who break 
up houses, commit murder, are confined 
to prisons, loaded with irons, and die upon 
the gallows? They that tarry long at the 
wine, they that go seek mixt wine and are 
mighty to drink strong drink . . . 

"Next to intemperance as a cause, this ' 
malefactor ascribes his licentious life and 
ignominious death to the want of im- 
proper restraint in his youth. The Bible 
and experience both told us to train him 
up in the way he should go and that when 
he was old he would not depart; we were 
commanded to beat him with a rod, and 
not spare for his crying . . . who can after 
all go home and neglect the education of 
his own children; 

"Finally, when we look at this unhappy 
criminal and think what would the poor 
wretch give that he were in our condition: 
Let none of us indulge or nourish in our 
hearts the pride of the Pharisee or even so 
much as think in a way of boasting what 
he spoke with his mouth, "God I thank 
Thee that I am not as other men or even 
as this malefactor", when perhaps the 
principle distinction between him and 
numbers here present may be nothing 
more than the gilding of a coffin or the 
paint of a sepulchre; and even of some 
others, the difference may consist only in 
this, that he is detected and condemned, 
but they as yet are concealed from human 
eye, while in the eye of God omniscient, 
both they, and we, and all have sinned 
and come short of His glory". 

Condemned therefore by the same law, 
guilty before the same God, we are all 
prisoners of divine justice, and equally 
need repentence and pardoning mercy, 
through the blood of the same atonement. 



"except ye repent, ye shall all like wise 
perish; repent therefore, let us all, and be 
converted, that we may have redemption 
through the blood of Christ, even the for- 
giveness of sins, according to the riches 
of His grace; and receive in the end the 
riches of the glory of the inheritance, in 
His everlasting kingdom. Amen. 

A Topographical Description of The Town of 
Raynham, In The County of Bristol, Febru- 
ary 6, 1793. By The Rev. Perez Fobes, LL.D. 

Raynham is distant from Boston, the cap- 
ital of the state, about thirty-six miles; in a 
southerly direction. This town, which, with a 
number of others, originally belonged to the 
old township of Taunton, was taken off and 
incorporated, in the year 1731. It is bounded 
on the east by Bridgewater; on the west by 
Taunton; on the south by the river called 
Taunton Great River, and on the north by 
Eastown, Bridgewater, and a part of Nip- 
paniquet pond. It is about eight miles in 
length and four miles and a half wide. This 
town makes a part of those lands which orig- 
inally were known by the name of Cohanat, 
in the colony of New Plymouth. They were 
first purchased of Massasoit, the Indian Chief, 
by Elizabeth Pool and her associates. 

The lands in general are level and smooth. 
A stranger, riding through the town, will 
form but an indifferent opinion of the whole, 
if he judges from that part only, which he 
sees. The roads are excellent, but the soil is 
penurious. This however is not character- 
istick of the whole. The soil, in general, has 
sufficient variety, and yields, under the hand 
of industry, almost every kind of production 
in tolerable plenty. Rye and Indian corn are 
in general raised here with great ease, and in 
such quantities as not only to supply the in- 
habitants, but to afford considerable for 
market. There are indeed two kinds of soil 
here, of which the farmers frequently com- 
plain. The one is the clayey cold kind; the 
other is the light spungy soil: but as these 
are often found near together, and will, by 
mixing, correct and meliorate each other, this 
complaint, it is hoped, will not long continue. 

The timber here growing is principally oak, 
white, red, and black oak; walnut, maple, 
black and white birch, elm, pine, cedar, 
locusts, spruce, beech, buttonwood, hornbine, 
and sassafras; the last of which, when used for 
posts, or any other way, is found to be the 
most incorruptible of any wood hitherto 
known. 

A considerable part of the town lies upon a 
circular bend of Taunton River. This river is 
between seven and eight rods wide, and af- 
fords a great plenty of herrings and other fish: 



36 



but so unfavourable is it, in this place to sein- 
ing or fishing, that the exclusive privilege of 
fishing is annually sold for less than twelve 
shillings, while the same privilege in Bridge- 
water and Middleborough, (towns which lie 

above this) is annually sold for more than two 
hundred and fifty pounds. Justice perhaps in 
this case pleads for indulgence from govern- 
ment, or the grant of some artificial conven- 
ience, where nature seems to have denied one. 
Besides the great river, there are several other 
useful streams, upon which, in different 
places, stand six saw mills, three grist mills, 
one furnace, a forge, and fulling mill. It is 
remarkable, that notwithstanding the quan- 
tity of pine timber sawed at these mills, the 
logs rafted down the river, and the pine con- 
sumed in furnaces, in slitting mills, and com- 
mon fires; yet it is confidently affirmed, that 
there is now standing in this town as much 
pine timber as on the first day of its settle- 
ment; such has been the growth of swamp 
pine. But of no other kind of wood or fuel 
can it be said, that the growth has been equal 
to the consumption. The large quantities of 
coals, consumed in carrying on the iron man- 
ufacture in all its branches, has, within a few 
years past, greatly enhanced the value of 
wood. This has already occasioned emigra- 
tions, and will probably produce more. But 
when the rapid growth of wood in general, 
of white birch and pine in particular, is con- 
sidered; when the late use of this species of 
pine, as an article of firing, which is known 
to grow faster in our most barren uplands, 
than even in the swamps; but especially when 
some of the late discoveries in the philosophy 
of heat, and its operations on the human 
body, become more generally known, it is 
very probable that the want of fuel will not 
be the cause of so much complaint. 

Upon the northerly part of the town, there 
is a large and valuable tract of cedar swamp; 
and towards the centre, are two considerable 
tracts more. The one is called the Dead, and 
the other, Titicut swamp. 

On the easterly side of the town is a pond, 
which is about two miles in circumference. It 
joins to Titicut swamp, and is supplied with 
pike, or pickerel, perch, and other kinds of 
fish. On the westerly boundary are two ponds 
more, called the Forge, and Fowling ponds. 
There is also a large pond, which makes part 
of the northerly boundary of this town, and 
divides it from Bridgewater. 

This pond is two miles in length and one 
in breadth, and is called Nippaniquit, or Nip- 
pahonsit pond. Here alewives in millions an- 
nually resort, and leave their spawns. An ex- 
cellent kind of ore, and various kinds of fish 



are found here. Allured, perhaps, by the pleas- 
ures of fishing, and the beauty of the pros- 
pect, that curious political character, Dr. 
Benjamin Church, of Boston, came here; and 
in the year 1768, built an elegant house upon 
one of the elevated sides of this pond. 

Although the lands in this town are in gen- 
eral level and smooth, yet there are some con- 
siderable elevations or hills. The principal 
ones are known by the names of Tareall and 
Smooch hill. The first is exceedingly fruitful; 
the other is equally barren. There is another 
situated near the line between this and the 
town of Taunton, which is called Steep hill. 

The first meeting house was built the year 
preceding the incorporation of the town. It 
then contained about thirty families; over 
which, in the month of October, 1731, was 
ordained the Rev. John Wales, father of the 
Rev. Doctor Samuel Wales, late Professor of 
Divinity at Yale College in Connecticut. He 
was blessed with talents, which rendered him 
very amiable and entertaining in social life. In 
publick prayer, his performances were emi- 
nent, and on some occasions almost un- 
equalled. He was a faithful plain preacher; and 
having served in the gospel ministry thirty- 
four years, he died February 23d, 1765, in 
the sixty-sixth year of his age. To him suc- 
ceeded the Rev. Perez Fobes, LL.D. He was 
graduated at Cambridge college, 1762, ordain- 
ed November 19th, 1766, and is now in the 
twenty-seventh year of his happy ministry, 
among a happy people. 

The first meeting house was conveniently 
situated for the first inhabitants; and contin- 
ued as the place of publick worship, for more 
than forty-two years, that is until June 9th, 
1771; when a new meeting house was erected 
nearly in the centre of the town. It stands 
upon a level spot of ground, near the inter- 
section of two roads. It has an elegant steeple 
lately built, is pleasantly situated, decently 
painted, and is about the distance of three 
miles from the county court house. 

The number of families in this town is near 
two hundred, which, according to the late 
census, contains about a thousand souls. Of 
this number nearly one sixth part are of the 
baptist denomination; of whom some attend 
worship with the congregationalists in the 
meeting house, others attend baptist meetings 
in the neighbouring towns; and some are con- 
tented with few occasional meetings at pri- 
vate houses. If it has been said of the baptists 
in general, that they were rather unfriendly 
to government and learning, yet in justice to 
that denomination it ought now to be said, 
that they are improving in their friendly re- 
gard to both. 



37 



If the salubrity of the air and soil can be 
accurately determined by a philosophical 
instrument, called an eudiometer: yet, among 
us, it is perhaps best known at present, by 
the health and longevity of the inhabitants. 
From a careful inspection of the bills of 
mortality, which in this place have been kept 
for more than twenty years past, and which 
might here have been inserted, it appears that 
the air is by no means unfavourable to health 
and long life. In one family born in this place, 
there were living not long since, five brothers 
and one sister, whose ages, taken together, 
amounted to more than five hundred years. 

The people of this town are principally 
farmers, with a proportion of mechanicks, 
traders, and professional characters. Besides 
the usual business of husbandry, numbers 
are here employed in the manufactories, of 
bar iron, hollow ware, nails, irons for vessels, 
iron shovels, pot ash, shingles, etc. These, to- 
gether with the late rapid increase of build- 
ings, as well as improvements in agriculture 
and iron manufacture, bear unquestionable 
attestation to the industry and enterprise of 
the people. 

Raynham has been considered as one of the 
most patriotick towns in the state. The in- 
habitants, especially those who attend pub- 
lick worship here, have been distinguished 
for their zealous attachment to republican 
government, to learning, to military disci- 
pline, and church musick. 

The unanimity and ardour of their publick 
decisions during the late war; their cautious, 
but spirited exertions, their prompt and 
peaceable compliances with the numerous 
calls of government in the days of exigence 
and danger, are well known; and perhaps 
ought the rather to be remembered, as their 
patience long endured the trial of cruel op- 
position, and the shock of ridicule, from the 
tongues, the pens, the publick votes, and 
contradicting examples of great numbers all 
around them. The people here can appeal to 
the living and the dead, when they say that 
not among their number was ever yet found, 
either a tory, a paper money man, or insur- 
gent. Fired at the name of insurgency, and 
hearing that a conspiracy was formed to pre- 
vent the sitting of the October court of 1786, 
the troops of this little town, consisting of 
two small companies, roused unanimous; and 
at the first call of their leaders, mustered in 
arms, marched alone to Taunton, entered the 
court house as a preoccupant guard, there lay 
upon their arms through the whole of the 
night, preceding the day of the court's sitting; 
and in open defiance of all the bloody threats 
of an unprincipled and outrageous mob, in 



constant expectation of hundreds in arms 
ready for battle, they stood firm, but alone; 
until the next day about noon, when by a 
reinforcement of troops from the county of 
Plymouth, and a number gleaned from dif- 
ferent parts of this county, they formed, and 
under the command of General Cobb, the 
insurrection was crushed, the supreme court 
sat, and government was triumphant; but 
from the whole county of Bristol, not another 
whole company appeared, except the two 
companies from Raynham! On the last regi- 
mental muster at Taunton, the equipment 
and military appearance of the two Raynham 
companies met with distinguished approba- 
tion from the inspecting general; by him they 
were pronounced equal to any in the state. 

As a proof of taste, and of real attachment 
to literature, it ought to be known that for 
more than fifteen years past, a kind of aca- 
demical school has been constantly taught in 
this town. It began in the year 1773, under 
the care of the Rev. Perez Fobes; and a large 
number of youth, from different towns and 
states, were instructed here, not only in the 
languages, but in the arts and sciences. When 
he could no longer attend, another instructor 
was employed, and a school of a similar kind 
set up, at the expense chiefly of a few indi- 
viduals in the town; and with little intermis- 
sion, it has continued in the same place to this 
day. 

A publick social library, consisting of a 
valuable collection of books has lately been 
established here, and through the last season, 
five English schools, besides a grammar school 
were taught in this town. At present there are 
six schools, four of which are now taught by 
respectable grammarians. Add to this, that 
four young men, from this town (two of 
whom lately settled in the ministry) have 
been graduated at different colleges, within 
a few years past; and six others from this 
place are now members of colleges. If this 
should not be thought cateris paribus, an in- 
stance without a parallel, it will perhaps be 
admitted as an evidence of literary zeal. 
But, in the opinion of the publick, perhaps 
that which chiefly gives this little town a 
claim to publick attention, is that here once 
lived Philip, the Indian King; and here still 
remain some pleasing monuments of antiquity 
and of great natural curiosity. They can here 
mark the place, and point with the hand to 
their children, and say, "Our ears have heard, 
and our fathers have told us," there once lived 
the tawny chief, the dread of women and 
children, a terror that walked in darkness, 
haunted in dreams, and butchered at noon- 
day. On that spot of ground stood his house; 



38 



my great grand parent knew him; he once 
sold him an ox for beef, and often supplied 
him with iron made with his own hands, in 
yonder forge, which he himself built, and 
was the first America ever saw. See, there yet 
stands the friendly dome, the once well- 
known garrison, to which our friends in num- 
bers fled, eager for life and panting in horror 
of Indian foes— and see— but let history 
speak—" 

The first adventurers from England to this 
country, who were skilled in the forge iron 
manufacture, were two brothers, viz. James 
and Henry Leonard. They came to this town 
in the year 1652, which was about two years 
after the first settlers had planted themselves 
upon this spot; and in the year 1652, these 
Leonards here built the first forge in America. 
Henry not long after moved from this place 
to the Jerseys and settled there. James, who 
was the great progenitor, from whom the 
whole race of the Leonards here sprung, lived 
and died in this town. He came from Ponter- 
pool in Monmouthshire, and brought with 
him his son Thomas, then a small boy, who 
afterwards worked at the bloomery art, with 
his father in the forge. This forge was situated 
on the great road; and having been repaired 
from generation to generation, it is to this day 
still in employ. On one side of the dam, at a 
small distance from each other, stand three 
large elms and one oak tree. Two of the elms 
are near three feet in circumference, and are 
still flourishing. These trees are now almost 
a hundred and twenty years old; which with 
the ancient buildings and other objects 
around, present to the eye a scene of the most 
venerable antiquity. In the distance of one 
mile and a quarter from this forge, is a place 
called the Fowling Pond, on the northerly 
side of which once stood King Philip's house. 
It was called Philip's hunting house, because, 
in the season most favourable to hunting, he 
resided there, but spent the winter chiefly 
at Mount Hope, probably for the benefit of 
fish. Philip and these Leonards, it seems, long 
lived in good neighbourhood, and often trad- 
ed with each other: and such was Philip's 
friendship, that as soon as the war broke out, 
which was in 1675, he gave out strict orders 
to all his Indians, never to hurt the Leonards. 
During the war, two houses near the forge 
were constantly garrisoned. These buildings 
are yet standing. One of them was built by 
James Leonard, long before Philip's war. This 
house still remains in its original gothick 
form, and is now inhabited, together with the 
same paternal spot, by Leonards of the sixth 
generation. In the cellar under this house, 
was deposited, for a considerable time, the 
head of King Philip; for it seems that even 



Philip himself shared the fate of kings; he 
was decollated, and his head carried about 
and shown as a curiosity, by one Alderman, 
the Indian who shot him. 

There is yet in being an ancient case of 
drawers, which used to stand in this house, 
upon which the deep scars and mangled im- 
pressions of Indian hatchets are now seen: 
but the deeper impressions made on those 
affrighted women, who fled from the house, 
when the Indians broke in, cannot be known. 
Under the door steps of the same building 
now lie buried the bones of two unfortunate 
young women, who, in their flight here, were 
shot down by the Indians, and their blood 
was seen to run quite across the road; but 
more fortunate was the flight of Uriah Leon- 
ard, who, as he was riding from Taunton to 
the forge in this place, was discovered and 
fired upon by the Indians. He instantly 
plucked off his hat, swung it around, which 
startled his horse, and in full career, he 
reached the forge dam, without a wound; 
but several bullets were shot through the 
hat he held in his hand, and through the 
neck of the horse near the mane, from which 
the blood on both sides gushed and ran down 
on both his legs. 

While deacon Nathaniel Williams, with 
some others, were at work in the field, on 
the south side of the road, about half a mile 
from the forge, one of the number discovered 
a motion of the bushes, at a little distance; 
he immediately presented his gun and fired; 
upon which the Indians were heard to cry, 
Cocoosh, and ran off: but soon after one of 
the Indians was found dead near the fowling 
pond. Near the great river are now to be seen 
the graves of Henry Andross, and James 
Philips, who, with James Bell and two sons, 
were killed by a number of Indians, who lay 
in ambush. This happened in the place called 
Squabette. 

The place already mentioned, by the name 
of Fowling Pond, is itself a great curiosity. 
Before Philip's war, it seems to have been a 
large pond, nearly two miles long, and three 
quarters of a mile wide. Since then, the water 
is almost gone, and the large tract it once 
covered, is grown up to a thick set swamp, of 
cedar and pine. That this, however, was once 
a large pond, haunted for fowls, and supplied 
with fish in great plenty, is more than prob- 
able, for here is found, upon dry land, a large 
quantity of white floor sand; and a great 
number of that kind of smooth stones, which 
are never found, except on shores, or places 
long washed with water. There is also on the 
east side a bank of sand, which is called the 
Beaver's Dam, against which the water must 



39 



formerly have washed up; and if so, the pond 
must once have been of such amplitude as 
that above mentioned. Add to this, that a 
large number of Indian spears, tools, pots, etc. 
are found near the sides of this pond. This 
indicates that the natives were once thick 
settled here. But what could be their object? 
What could induce Philip to build his house 
here? It was, undoubtedly, fishing and fowl- 
ing, in this then large pond. But more than 
all, there is yet living in this town a man of 
more than ninety years old, who can well 
remember, than when he was a boy, he had 
frequently gone off in a canoe, to fish in this 
pond; and says, that many a fish had been 
catched, where the pines and cedars are now 
more than fifty feet high. If an instance, at 
once so rare, and well attested, as this, should 
not be admitted as a curious scrap of the 
natural history of this country; yet it must be 
admitted as a strong analogical proof, that 
many of our swamps were originally ponds of 
water: but more than this, it suggests a new 
argument in favour of the wisdom and good- 
ness of that Divine Providence, which "changes 
the face of the earth," to supply the wants of 
man, as often as he changes from uncivilized 
nature, to a state of cultivation and refinement. 
There is one remarkable circumstance, rela- 
tive to the soil which environs this pond, and 
that is, its prolifick virtue in generating ore. 
Copious beds of iron ore, in this part of the 
country, are usually found in the neighbour- 
hood of pine swamps; or near to soils, natural 
to the growth of pine or cedar. In this case, if 
there is sufficient to filtrate the liquid mine, 
before it is deposited in beds, there will be 
found a plenty of bog ore. Now all these cir- 
cumstances remarkably coincide, in the 
vicinity of this pond, and the effect is as re- 
markable: for in this place, there has been 
almost an inexhaustible fund of excellent ore, 
from which the forge has been supplied, and 
kept going for more than eighty years; be- 
sides large quantities carried to other works, 
and yet here is ore still; though, like other 
things in a state of youth, it is weak and in- 
capable of being wrought into iron of the best 
quality. The signs already mentioned, as in- 
dicating ore, will afford to the philosopher 
an easy clue, for investigating the process of 
nature in the production of ore. In this way 
only, it must be determined, whether the 
original seeds, or pullutating particles of 
the ore, be lodged in the soil, or in the pine; 
and what is the process, the pabulum and 
period of its growth, through all its various 
stages, to maturity. The subject, perhaps, is 
new and unexplored; but by a number of 
well-conducted experiments, in the hands of 



genius, it promises a reward, which will add 
new riches to science, if not to the country. 
The time may come, when it will be easy, 
and as common, to raise a bed of bog ore as 
a bed of carrots. 

Appendix. Of the Family of Leonard. 

The following genealogical sketch is in- 
tended to show that longevity, promotion to 
publick office, and a kind of hereditary at- 
tachment to the iron manufacture, are all cir- 
cumstances, remarkably characteristick of the 
name and family of LEONARD. 

The great progenitor, James Leonard, lived 
to be more than seventy years old. He had 
three brothers, five sons, and three daughters, 
all whose ages, upon an average, amounted to 
more than seventy-four years. His son Uriah 
had five sons and four daughters: Of his sons 
four lived to be more than eighty, and all his 
daughters above seventy-five. Thomas, the 
oldest son of James, was a distinguished 
character. He held the office of a justice of 
the peace, a judge of the court, a physician, 
a field officer, and was eminent for piety. 
Sacred to his memory, an eulogy was printed 
in 1713, by the Rev. Samuel Danforth of 
Taunton, one of the most learned and emi- 
nent ministers of his day. This Thomas had 
five sons, of whom four lived above seventy 
years. His son George was a justice of the 
peace and a military officer. In Norton, in a 
poem published by a character of eminence, 
on occasion of his death, in 1716; he is styled 
"the prudent, pious, worthy, and worshipful 
Major George Leonard, Esq." He had four 
sons and three daughters. His oldest son 
George was a colonel, and a judge both of 
the probate and common pleas: he lived to 
be more than eighty; he had one son and two 
daughters: His son is the Honourable George 
Leonard, Esq. late member of congress: His 
oldest daughter is the wife of the Rev. David 
Barnes, and the mother of David Barnes, 
Esq. attorney at law. The other daughter 
was the wife of the late Colonel Chandler 
of Worcester. 

The second son of Major George, was 
Nathaniel, a pious, worthy minister, who 
settled in Plymouth. He lived more than 
seventy years; and he had a son Abiel, who 
was a minister in Connecticut, and a chap- 
lain in the American army in the revolution 
war. 

The third son of Major George was Ephraim: 
he was a colonel, a judge of the court, and a 
man of eminent piety: he lived to be more 
than eighty. He had one child only, viz. 
Daniel, who is now chief justice of the island 
of Bermuda: he also has but one son, Charles, 



40 



now a student at Cambridge college. 

Two of the daughters of Major George 
lived to be aged. One was the wife of Colonel 
Thomas Clap, formerly a minister of Taunton; 
the other was the wife of a respectable clergy- 
man. 

Samuel Leonard, the fourth son of Thomas, 
was a man of distinguished piety. He held the 
offices of a deacon, a captain, and justice of 
the peace. He had four sons and five daugh- 
ters. Two of his sons were captains, one a 
justice of the peace, and all of them deacons. 
Three are yet alive, one above eighty, and two 
above seventy. His third son Elijah has a son 
of his own name lately settled in the ministry. 
His oldest daughter was the parent of Dr. 
Simeon Howard of Boston. His second daugh- 
ter was the wife of Rev. John Wales of this 
town, and the mother of Rev. Dr. Samuel 
Wales, professor of divinity at Yale College. 
The other daughters were the wives of re- 
spectable characters, and all in publick of- 
fices. Elkanah, the fifth son of Thomas, had 
three sons, two of whom lived to see more 
than seventy. One was a captain, the other a 
major, a lawyer, and one of the most dis- 
tinguished geniuses of his name and day. He 
left two sons, both captains, and above sixty. 
One of them, viz. Zebulon, has an only child, 
that is now the wife of Dr. Samuel Shaw. 

John was another son of Thomas. He had 
four sons and three daughters, who all lived 
to be above eighty. A daughter of the oldest 
son, was the wife of the Rev. Eliab Byram, 
and the parent of the present wife of Josiah 
Dean, Esq. of this town, who himself is also 
a lineal descendant, and the present owner of 
the forge first built by his great ancestor. 

Thus far of the posterity of Thomas the 
oldest son of the progenitor, James, the 
second son of James, bore his own name. He 
had four sons and three daughters: three of 
his sons lived to be near eighty; and two 
of the daughters above ninety. One of them 
was the wife of Doctor Ezra Dean; and the 
other was the parent of Gershom Crane, esq. 
who lived to be almost a hundred years old, 
and was the father of the present Doctor Jon- 
athan Crane, esq. The oldest son of James was 
Captain James Leonard, who had three sons 
and five daughters, two of his sons were mil- 
itary officers, and all of them lived nearly to 
the age of seventy. His oldest daughter was 
the wife of Thomas Cobb, esq. and the moth- 
er of the Hon. David Cobb, esq. speaker of 
the house, member of congress, etc. The 
second son of James was Stephen Leonard: 
he was a justice of the peace, and a judge of 
the court of common pleas. He had four sons, 
three of whom lived to be aged; one was the 



Rev. Silas Leonard of New York; the oldest 
was Major Zephapiah Leonard, esq. and judge 
of the court. He had five sons of whom four 
are yet alive, three of them had a publick 
education at Yale College. The oldest is Capt. 
Joshua, who now inhabits the ancient pater- 
nal building, and is nearly seventy: he has a 
son of his own name, who at the age of 
twenty-two, was an ordained minister in 
Connecticut. The second son is Colonel 
Zephaniah Leonard. He has held the offices 
of an attorney at law, a justice of the peace, 
and is now sheriff of the county. He has 
three sons, two of whom are now members 
of college. The third son is Apollos Leonard, 
esq. one of the special justices of the county. 
The youngest son, is Samuel Leonard, lately 
appointed a justice of the peace. He is a re- 
spectable, opulent merchant, and has a num- 
ber of promising sons, that wait only for the 
proper age, to receive such an education, as 
will add still greater honour to the ancient 
honourable family and name they bear. Such 
has been the longevity and promotion to 
publick offices, in two branches of this 
family only. The circumstance of a family 
attachment to the iron manufacture is so well 
known, as to render it a common observation 
in this part of the country, viz. where you can 
find iron works, there you will find a 
LEONARD. 

Henry, the brother of James, went from 
this place, to the Jerseys, and was one of the 
first who set up iron works in that state. He 
was the progenitor of a numerous and re- 
spectable posterity in that part of America. 



41 



Simeon Doggett 



By Mrs. Carolyn Owen 

Rev. Simeon Doggett was born in Middle- 
boro in 1765. His birthplace was in a part of 
that town that became Lakeville in 1853 and 
near the Lakeville Hospital. Simeon, his father, 
had migrated from Marshfield in 1742, and 
with his brother served in the French and 
Indian War. He was a skillful cabinet maker 
and in later years was known as "the Tory 
farmer of Middleborough". Conscientious in 
his belief that it was wrong to rebel against 
the mother country, he was imprisoned and 
released only when he promised the "Com- 
mittee of Inspection" that he would not leave 
his farm without permission. 

Rev. Doggett was a graduate of Brown Uni- 
versity and became the first preceptor of 
Bristol Academy in Taunton, on July 18, 
1796, a position he held until 1813. At that 
time he was far in advance of the other edu- 
cators of that day and was an advocate for 
giving females the same advantages for in- 
struction with the other sex. He married 
Nancy Fobes, whose father, the Rev. Perez 
Fobes, was the second minister of Raynham, 
and whose mother was the daughter of the 
Rev. John Wales, the first minister of Rayn- 
ham. 



After leaving Bristol Academy, Rev. Dog- 
gett went to Mendon where he settled into 
the ministry. In April 1828, he returned to 
Raynham where he served as pastor of the 
Second Congregational Church until their 
suspension of public worship about 1850. 
A period of over twenty years. 

One of his "boys" from earlier years at 
the Academy wrote of his old headmaster 
in his memoirs, "When he was about 70 years 
of age and on a journey to visit a son in the 
south, he was a welcome visitor at my fire- 
side at my home in New York. The same 
calm beniguity on his countenance, the same 
firm but subdued accent as I recalled 30 years 
previously his morning prayer, daily given in 
the Bristol Academy, when his voice rose with 
meek and unaffected grace at my own table". 

He continued to write later of another 
meeting, "In the summer of 1850, I rode on 
horseback to his quiet residence in Raynham, 
to offer my congratulations to my revered 
and venerable old teacher. He was in his study 
leaning over the Sacred Volume. With that 
suavity of manner which he never forgot, he 
rose to receive me. Pointing to the book that 
lay open before him, he referred in a few 










Home of Simeon Doggett built by him in 1828 on South Main Street. It burned around 1915 

(Old Colony Museum) 



42 




First Unitarian Church ofRaynham where Doggett was Pastor, later used by Employees of the 

Johnson Shoe Company as a clubhouse, later became the property of the Woman's Club who called it 

"Weonit" Hall now that they owned it. Bruce Johnson Park is located here today. (Old Colony Museum) 



simple graphic words his life long devotedness 
to the sacred teachings, enforcing its pre- 
cepts in a manner that deeply touched me." 

He wrote later of his leave taking, "With 
a kindness wholly parental he grasped my 
hand at parting and renewed his benediction, 



speaking of the termination of his earthly 
pilgrimage with no repining." 

Rev. Doggett died in 1852, at the age of 
87, beloved and respected universally by 
those who had derived the benefit of educa- 
tion and high moral example at his hands. 



43 



Amariah Hall 



Amariah Hall was born in 1758 to his 
father, also Amariah Hall who lived on South 
Main Street in Raynham. He learned to care 
for his father's tavern and later kept the 
tavern there. It was at this location that 
young Amariah, himself a fine tenor, kept a 
singing school in which neighbors and friends 
would hold weekly meetings to learn the 
"rudiments of musick" and several tunes of 
the day. Hall's popularity as a singing school 
leader grew and he traveled throughout south- 
ern New England conducting singing schools. 
By 1813, several of his own tunes had been 
published and stolen by other publishers of 
the day. Meanwhile, Hall was busy manu- 
facturing straw bonnets and farming. Ap- 
parently he was almost completely self taught 
in music. 




Amariah Hall's Tavern where he conducted 

singing schools and tended bar, built by his father 

in 1761 (Old Colony Museum) 

His hymns traveled south with New Eng- 
land emigrants and were published in the 
MISSOURI HARMONY (1827) and the 
SOUTHERN HARMONY (1835) and the 
SACRED HARP (1844). Many of his hymns 
were also published locally. The Old Stough- 
ton Musical Society's Centennial edition of 
1876 contains Hall's "masterpiece" "All 
Saints New" along with an accurate biograph- 
ical description of Amariah Hall. Among some 
of his hymns known to us are "Devotion", 
"My Glory", "Canaan", "Crucifixion", "Har- 
mony", "Hosanna", and "Restoration". The 
tunes are Hall's with the words taken from 
several biblical and contemporary sources. 
Most of Hall's music is in four parts although 
some is. in three. We know that he used both 
men and women on the melody, and counter 
parts with only women on the alto and men 
alone on the bass. 



Enoch Sanford 

By Enoch Sanford 

The fourth pastor of this church was Rev. 
Enoch Sanford, of Berkley, who graduated at 
Brown University, in the class of 1820, and 
was subsequently tutor in that institution two 
years. He studied Theology with Calvin Park, 
D. D., Professor of Moral Philosophy in the 
college, and was admitted to orders in the 
ministry, by the Old Colony Association at 
Berkley, in 1822. He had preached a year in 
Seekonk, while an officer in the college, was 
evangelical, but not high Calvinistic, and con- 
servative in his sentiments. As there were in 
Raynham a number verging towards Unitarian- 
ism, it was thought he would not be unaccept- 
able to the different parties, and after preach- 
ing here four months, was ordained Oct. 2d, 
1823. The vote calling him was unanimous, 
and the salary five hundred dollars, with the 
use of the parsonage and glebe. At his ordina- 
tion a great assembly collected, filling the 
house below and above. The ordaining coun- 
cil was composed of: 

Rev. Pitt Clark Norton 

Rev. Calvin Park, D. D Providence 

Rev. Abraham Gushee Dighton 

Rev. Luther Hamilton Taunton 

Rev. R. M. Hodges Bridgewater 

Rev. Philip Colby Middleborough 

Rev. Thomas Andros Berkley 

FORMATION OF A SECOND SOCIETY 
Rev. Thomas Andros preached the ordina- 
tion sermon, and Mr. Gushee offered the or- 
daining prayer; Mr. Hamilton gave the right 
hand of fellowship; Mr. Clark the charge, and 
Mr. Colby the concluding prayer. The council 
and visitors were entertained by Peyton 
Randolph Leonard, at the King Philip man- 
sion, near the forge,— the famous old house 
built about 1670. The council walked in pro- 
cession to the church, led by Rev. Mr. Andros, 
the moderator, in his canonical robe. The 
music at the ordination was by the Beethoven 
Society, composed of select singers from sev- 
eral towns, under the leadership of Colonel 
Adonirum Crane, of Berkley. 

For several years Mr. Sanford maintained 
pulpit exchanges with the neighboring clergy 
indiscriminately; but when the distinction 
between Orthodoxy and Unitarianism became 
more accurately defined, he deemed it in- 
consistent with his duty to continue ex- 
changes with ministers of the latter denomin- 
ation. This refusal raised opposition from a 
portion of the church and society, which 
presently took a definite form and expression. 
While Mr. Sanford was absent at the anniver- 
saries in Boston, the dissatisfied members 



44 



prepared a remonstrance, requesting him not 
to discontinue such exchanges, stating therein 
that his settlement was on the expectation 
that ministerial intercourse should be main- 
tained alike with liberal and orthodox clergy- 
men irrespectively. 

On his return another memorial was pre- 
sented, desiring him to regulate the matter of 
exchanges according to his own judgment and 
discretion,— declaring that his settlement was 
not on the expectation that he should ex- 
change with Unitarians. This paper was signed 
by about two-thirds of the voting members 
of the church and society. Prior to this time 
the line of separation had never been so clear- 
ly drawn. There were Articles of Faith adopt- 
ed and formerly used by the church, in ad- 
mitting members. This creed and covenant 
was similar to that of other evangelical 
churches, but had been lost or suppressed 
during Mr. Hull's ministry. 

These discords resulted in the formation 
of an Unitarian Society, in 1828, comprising 
twenty-five of the church and a portion of the 
society. The new organization, styled the 
Second Congregational Soceity, included 
some of the most respected and influential 
families in the town. They first worshipped in 
Captain Reuben Hall's public hall, and at 
length built a church a little north of the first 
church, on land presented by Ellis Hall, Esq., 
and engaged Rev. Simeon Doggett, of Men- 
don, for their minister, who continued to 
preach while the organization was maintained. 

The new society received few accessions, 
and, at the end of a dozen years, services were 
discontinued, and a portion of the congrega- 
tion and their pastor attended public worship 
at the old church. 

Before the separation was accomplished, 
various circumstances occurred, tending to a 
division. Some wished to introduce the Unit- 
arian Hymn book. The leader of the choir, 
Mr. Otis Washburn, conferred with Mr. San- 
ford upon the expediency of the change, who 
advised to leave the decision to the church. 
New books were, however, distributed among 
the choir without further consultation. On 
the following Sunday, when the hymn was 
announced from Watts as usual, the choir 
remained silent. In the afternoon, Mr. Wheeler 
Wilbur volunteered to lead the tune, and the 
choir followed in the accustomed hymn. Soon 
after, at a meeting of the church and society, 



a majority determined to make no change in 
the hymn book. 

Subsequently, difficulties arose concerning 
the funds of the first society, the trustees of 
which Horatio Leonard, Maj. John Gilmore 
and others, who were all among the seceders. 
They refused to pay over the income of the 
investment. Suit was brought, and the case 
conducted by Z. Eddy, of Middleborough, 
carried before the Supreme Court, where the 
decision was in favor of the first society, on 
the ground that the funds were originally 
given to it; and those who withdrew from the 
society could not lawfully carry any portion 
of the funds with them. The income then was 
about $200,— formerly it had been more. Not 
long after, Captain Edward Leonard left to 
the society, by his will, a legacy of $1,000 
and land worth $800. He also gave $1,000 to 
the Unitarian society, in behalf of his brother 
Samuel, who inteded to make the bequest had 
he executed a will. 

After a service of nearly twenty-five years, 
Mr. Sanford resigned, in 1847. Notwithstand- 
ing the Unitarian withdrawal, during that 
period the church increased and prospered, 
receiving, during his ministry, one hundred 
and twenty-five new members, augmenting its 
numbers from eighty to one hundred and 
forty -nine. Largely through his influence the 
society received several thousand dollars in 
donations and legacies. The Sabbath school 
was instituted in 1823, and Dea. E. B. Deane 
became the first superintendent. Amicable 
relations were maintained with the venerable 
pastor of the new society, and no dissonance 
ever arose. In the superintendence of the pub- 
lic schools, where Mr. Sanford was active for 
thirty years, and in sustaining the various 
public interests of the community, the two 
pastors acted cordially together. 

In 1824, Mr. Sanford was married to Miss 
Caroline White, of Weymouth. They lived, 
for more than twenty years, in the parsonage 
house, and there five children were born. Be- 
fore the era of railroads, when all travelling 
was by horses and much of it by private con- 
veyance, the parsonage was a centre of 
hospitality for clergymen and friends passing 
that way. Here Mr. Sanford resided until he 
built a new house, an eighth of a mile distant, 
where he continues to live. Of his children, 
two are successful physicians, one a lawyer 
and one a manufacturer. Mr. Sanford died 
November 29, 1890. 



45 



Raynham in 1870 

The anchor forge was originally built for 
the extraction of iron from the ore, and for 
the manufacture of the numerous articles in 
iron needed by a young colony. Cart tires, 
chimney cranes and irons, hooks, spikes, nails, 
axes, chains, plough-shares and bolts were 
among the various products. It was conducted 
for many years by Hon. Josiah Dean, and the 
iron work for his ship building was wrought 
there. William Byram was his foreman. E. D. 
Dean, son of Josiah, inherited it and it is now 
conducted by Theodore Dean, and wholly de- 
voted to the manufacture of anchors. 

The Raynham Furnace, now discontinued, 
formerly stood on a branch of Two-mile river. 
It was owned by Israel Washburn, who man- 
ufactured hollow ware. A grist mill has long 
stood on the same dam. Of late years, G. W. 
King has manufactured nails and shovels 
there, adding a steam engine for increased 
power. About 1840, a freshet burst the dam 
and destroyed the works. They were restored, 
and burned in 1846, and again re-erected. 

At the same place, the Raynham Tack 
Company had extensive works, which were 
consumed in 1868. They have been rebuilt 



- , 


'A 1 

4 ' 'iii^Tglfll 


-?- ■ ■ 




Ju^^XlH^S 


• 1 




n IjBjF 4 £ Mm 


1 





bought the estate and are erecting a new 
manufactory. At the mouth of Two-mile 
river, there are works for the manufacture of 
wrought iron nails, by machinery, owned by 
Martin G. Williams. At the same place, there is 
a saw mill and a rapidly running grist mill 
driven by a turbine wheel. At the north, 
Bradford D. Snow had a shop run by steam, 
recently burned. At Squawbetty, Jahaziah S. 
King has carried on, for a long time, the 
manufacture of nails, shovels and hay-forks. 

At Squawbetty, lying on both sides of 
Taunton river, partly in Taunton and partly 
in Raynham, are the Old Colony Iron Works. 
They cover four acres of ground, and employ 
seven hundred workmen. Railroad tracks run 
through the works, and a steam tug brings 
freight up the river entering the shops, by a 
lock and canal. The water power is not ex- 
celled in the county, except as Fall River. 
The dam was first erected sixty years ago, 
by Stephen King. Successive increase has 
brought the works to their present extensive 
proportions. Ten chimneys, seventy feet high, 
show where the iron is heated, to be rolled 
into bars, plates and rods. The power of the 




| 



King's Tack Shop on Gardner Street about 1890 (Old Colony Museum) 



by Robinson, Rounds & Co. On the west 
branch of Two-mile river, Emery S. Wilbur 
has a saw and grist mill. On its east branch, 
are the mills of Oliver S. Wilbur, burned in 
1866, and rebuilt. On the next dam below, 
are the saw mills of John Tracy. At the centre, 
are the saw, shingle and grist mills, long 
owned by Ellis Hall. The head of water is 
twelve feet and the capacity of the pond large. 
In 1869, D. G. Williams and W. O. Snow 



rolling mill is enormous; its balance wheel 
is thirty-five feet in diameter. Iron wire, nails 
and shovels are produced in large quantities. 
A single machine, of which there are hundreds, 
will make three nails per second. August 15, 
1869, the shovel shop, three hundred feet 
long, in which there were a hundred dozen 
shovels in process of manufacture, was burn- 
ed, entailing a loss of $150,000— one-half 
insured. It was rebuilt in 1870. 



46 



Report of the Superintendent 
of Schools 1876 

The Town, at its last annual meeting, in- 
structed the School Committee to choose a 
superintendent of schools, and also expressed 
its preference for one of the then school board 
to fill the office. It also expressed its desire 
to have the labor performed for the enormous 
sum of one hundred dollars. Accepting the of- 
fice under these circumstances, I have en- 
deavored to perform as little labor as possible 
and come within the requirements of the law. 
Still I doubt much if any citizen of the town 
will give personally to another, the amount of 
labor performed for so small a compensation. 
During the year I have written in the interest 
of the schools, fifty-seven letters and made 
one hundred and twenty-one regular visits. I 
have visited Boston, Chelsea, Berkley, Attle- 
boro, Foxboro, East Bridgewater, Dighton, 
Bridgewater, and five times to Taunton for 
teachers. I have been to Boston several times 
for books for the schools, attended meetings 
of Committee, to supplying the schools with 
fuel, to the repairs, and to supplying the 
scholars with books. I think no one would be 
willing to perform that amount of labor for 
less than double the amount of pay. It may 
seem to you there is no need of so many 
visits. I have felt at times need of very many 
more, and have therefore visited some schools 
more than others. Would you think the super- 
intendent of a cotton mill need visit it only 
once a month for an hour or two? Would you 
not rather say, keep a strict watch and over- 
sight over the whole, and if aught goes wrong 
apply an immediate remedy,— not wait until 
the whole machinery is disarranged and all 
must be stopped for repair? 

It is an erroneous notion, and yet one 
which prevails somewhat extensively, to sup- 
pose that our schools will do well enough if 
the Committee look in upon them three or 
four times during a term. Is that the way men 
of business conduct their affairs? We know 
it is not. Many of the large dealers hire men 
to do nothing but walk about and oversee the 
salesmen in their employ. Are not those the 
most successful in acquiring property? Ought 
we not to use as much foresight in the culti- 
vation of our children? Which is of greater 
moment, the present and future well being 
of your child, the building up its mind, life 
and character, according to the highest stand- 
ard of moral culture, or the making a yard, 
more or less, of cotton cloth? 

During the Spring Term of school we were 
favored by a visit from Hon. Abner J. Phipps, 



General Agent of the State Board of Educa- 
tion, who, in the two days spent with us, 
visited all the schools of the town, with one 
exception. Coming, as he does, with authority 
from the State, and with his universally ack- 
nowledged capabilities for interesting and 
pleasing the children with whom he comes in 
contact, what wonder that the schools gained 
a fresh impetus, and felt more was dependent 
upon their own individual effort. The teachers 
also cheered by the presence of one who 
sympathized in their labors, who understood 
the trials and perplexities of their vocation, 
were strengthened and encouraged to more 
determined action. During the Fall Term we 
were again favored by a visit and lecture. 

The facts there stated by him and which 
many of you heard, may well fill our minds 
with grave apprehensions of the future, if 
we remain so supinely indifferent to the right 
direction and education of all the children 
of the community. It becomes us to wake 
from our lethargy and insist upon every child 
having an education, sufficient to enable him 
to enjoy the privileges of enlightened civil 
life. At our request he again lectured in Gil- 
more Hall, during the Winter Term, to an 
interested audience. The advice given by him, 
having as he does the opportunity for obser- 
vation and comparison, not only each town 
with every other in the State, but with those 
of other States and countries, should receive 
our careful consideration. His ideas as given 
you, and as given us in private, in the matter 
of grading our schools coincides entirely with 
the views heretofore entertained by us and so 
often given you in former reports. It is un- 
necessary for us to say more in regard to the 
matter. For the advice given, and for the good 
influence of his visits in the schools, he should 
receive your warmest thanks. The schools 
during the past year have taken a better stand 
than during the few years that have directly 
preceded. There has been more unanimity in 
the work, less change of teachers, and more 
earnestness on the part of the pupils. As a 
whole, the parents have become more inter- 
ested in the welfare of their children, and in 
many cases have inconvenienced themselves 
to have them attend school. Yet there is a 
lamentable neglect on the part of some, to 
send their children to school if they desire 
to stay at home, or absent themselves for any 
reason. 

There is also a reluctance and a disposition 
to rebel on the part of some parents, against 



47 



the rule requiring an excuse for absence or 
tardiness. In thus opposing one of the regula- 
tions which is absolutely necessary to the 
well-being of the whole, do you not know 
your act is an indirect attempt to destroy the 
good influence of the teacher, and finally to 
ruin the school? 

Your own individual opinion cannot be 
taken as the guide into the school room, but 
the united opinion of those who have the 
interest of all at heart. We must act as we are, 
members of a body corporate, and as mem- 
bers of such body, shrink not from perform- 
ing the duties required of us as individuals. It 
may be at times unpleasant and annoying, but 
for the good of the whole is not our duty 
plain? 



unitedly, what momentous results have been 
attained. Thus we must endeavor by all our 
words and all our acts, to suffer no hindrance 
to be placed in any child's way, whereby he 
may lose the opportunities that are rightfully 
his. Examine the statistical table, and see if 
you have not been remiss, criminally remiss, 
in what pertains to the duty of a true citizen. 
You have no right to hinder another in his 
class, by having your child absent from school 
or tardy, as, generally, for some frivolous, 
unmeaning excuse. Parents see to it, that in 
this particular, while you are insisting upon 
truthfulness and uprightness in your children, 
you do not set them the example by your 
own acts, of appropriating, through indiffer- 
ence or neglect, what is not your own. As you 



4 ,,. Wm *" 


m I 

^W 4 


M 


B^M 



Gilmore School Class around 1895. Standing: Roy Grinnell, Gene Lincoln, teacher unidentified, 
Roscoe Wilbur, Lucy Kelly, Justin Hall. Seated: L-R Helen Kelly, Arthur Dean, Julia Kelly, Sarah Kelly, 

Robinson and Sadie Leach. (Old Colony Museum) 



The matter of compulsory attendance at 
school is attracting the attention of all edu- 
cators, of all those who look forward to the 
prolonged good and growth of our nation. 
The question of right and wrong in the mat- 
ter is palpable to any one who views the sub- 
ject with an unprejudiced mind. Is it for the 
best interest of the community that all child- 
ren should grow up with their minds well 
stored with knowledge, trained to earnest 
habits of thought, and their spirits fully im- 
bued with the highest moral principles of ac- 
tion? If it is, you have no right as a member 
of that community, to place any impediment 
in the way of such a consummation,— but 
rather by all the means in your power, even 
to sacrificing your own personal ease and 
welfare, to help on to such a grand result. 
We are not to labor for ourselves alone, but 
for the whole. Alone we can do but little, but 



would wish a future for your children full of 
pleasant memories, as you would have them 
look back when you have closed your life 
here with fond affection for the care and 
kindness and love that has watched their 
footsteps and guided them on in the path of 
duty, let not this neglect of yours rise up to 
cast a shadow over the memory of your life. 

North School 

The Spring term of this school was taught 
by Miss Ruth A. Hovy, of Ipswich. She brought 
to her work the experience of former teaching 
and a conscientious determination to do her 
whole duty. The lessons for the day were well 
arranged and understood before being called 
up, and her whole attention was given to each 
class in its order. 

The Fall and Winter terms were taught by 
Miss Hannah H. Taft, of East Bridgewater, a 



48 



graduate of Bridgewater Normal School, with 
an experience of one year of successful teach- 
ing. 

She has labored diligently with her school, 
acquiring the good will of her pupils, as 
shown by the good order manifested at the 
close. As this school is composed almost al- 
together of primary scholars, we did not ex- 
pect to see as interesting a close as in former 
years. 

East 
The teacher of several years past Miss 
Eugenia Hall, of Raynham, has taught this 
school during the past year, with her usual 
success. Some matters that do not legally 
belong to the school were introduced, with- 
out our knowledge and against our wishes. 

South Primary 

This department of the school, has been 
taught during the year by the teacher of sev- 
eral former years, Miss Sybil Williams, of 
Raynham, with her former success. The class 
that should take its place in the other depart- 
ment at the commencement of the next term, 
is not as far advanced, is not as well qualified, 
as the class of last year. The scholars as a 
whole are younger and lack a little of the 
energy that characterized those. 

South Grammar 
This department has been taught during 
the year by Miss Eudora M. Allen of Berkley. 
A teacher of several years experience, a grad- 
uate of Bridgewater Normal School, with the 
training which that school supplies, with her 
devotedness to teaching as a life work, with a 
conscientious regard for the best interests of 
her pupils, what could be expected, with 
scholars eager to learn, but a successful year 
of school. And we were not disappointed. 
The class in grammar taught by the Normal 
method, we hope will remain in school long 
enought to prove whether the experiment is 
a success. We hope to hear she remains an- 
other year. At the close several of the district 
were present, also the teachers of the ad- 
joining school in the city of Taunton; sev- 
eral of the parents, teacher and pupils of the 
Tracy school; the teacher and several of the 
pupils of Prattville, and the teacher of the 

North. 

The exercises were varied by several of the 
pupils of the Tracy school, at the close, sing- 
ing a piece at our request, which we wish all 
the parents of the town might hear and heed. 

Gilmore 
For the year past we have employed Miss 
Lottie K. Richards, of East Bridgewater. Soon 



after the commencement of the spring term, 
she had an offer of a situation in a yearly 
school at a higher salary. Yet deeming it un- 
just to cancel her engagement without our 
permission, which we could not give willing- 
ly, she has remained throughout the year. 
There are some parents in this district, who 
apparently do not desire to have their child- 
ren brought under wholesome restraint. They 
are earnest to have punishment inflicted upon 
others, but theirs must be excused. It would 
be well to let the teacher govern the school 
without parents insisting that their children 
shall decide what shall be done and what not. 
The writing in this school was much the best 
in town, showing what can be done by care- 
ful attention and strict compliance with the 
simplest requirements. We desire to say here 
if the several schools in town would adopt the 
method enforced here, more progress would 
be made in that important branch of educa- 
tion. The school year has been one of success. 

At the commencement of the year, we ap- 
pointed three truant officers for the town, 
Hiram A. Pratt for the north part, Charles F. 
Snow for the centre and Chauncey G. Wash- 
burn for the south. As far as deemed advisable 
they have attended to their duty. Several 
parents have been notified and have promised 
to send their children to school, while others 
put in the plea of want of suitable clothing. 
Some of those parents who promised to send 
them, have done so for a few days and then 
ceased, while those who complained of want 
of clothing, have had sufficient to be out of 
doors most of the time, and some of them at 
times dressed better than many of those at- 
tending school. If at the opening of the spring 
term they do not appear and continue, we 
propose to try the effect of the law. We have 
striven to persuade, but it is now time we 
think to resort to other means. 

We would recommend to the town to 
authorize the School Committee, at their 
discretion, to procure a number of diplomas 
or medals to be given those scholars who at- 
tend school without absence or tardiness for 
one, two and three terms, also for two years 
and upwards. 

Repairs 
The following are the principal repairs dur- 
ing the past year. We have whitewashed the 
plastering and supplied with blinds the 
North. Repaired plastering, whitewashed the 
ceiling and papered the walls of Gilmore. 
Whitewashed, papered and repaired the 
plastering of Prattville. Papered, whitewashed, 
and some slight repairs upon Tracy; painted 
the blackboards throughout the town, and 
slight work done on all the houses. 



49 




Old South School about 1890 (Old Colony Museum) 



We would recommend the following re- 
pairs for the coming year, on the school 
houses and grounds. Painting of the North, 
new stove-pipe for the South, as that is 
dangerous it is so badly rusted. Gilmore, 
draining the cellar, as water stands there a 
large portion of the year, the centre of the 
house is settled, should be raised, gravel 
drawn to fill up around the house to the 
underpinning, and ceil the school room, as 



the plaster is continually falling. The stove 
and pipe in Prattville needs renewing, and 
several slight repairs in all the school houses 
of the town. Several of the schools need 
Webster's Unabridged Dictionary as hereto- 
fore, the others having been used up. We 
would also recommend that the several re- 
pairs and the care of the school houses and 
grounds, be left in the hands of the School 
Committee. 



50 




Nelson Rivet Works, formerly Johnson Shoe Shop 1900 
(Old Colony Museum) 



Raynham Center Post Office about 1915 
(Old Colony Museum) 




North Raynham Post Office, comer of Broadway and Center Street 1915 (Old Colony Museum) 



51 



Truant Officer's Report 1906 

To the School Committee of Raynham: 

I see that my predecessor in office com- 
mences his last report with the statement 
that the complaints have been about the 
same as usual. I do not know exactly what 
that means, whether from the teacher or 
parents, for I have received complaints from 
both, in fact most of the cases of truancy my 
attention has been called to the parents have 
complained bitterly about the teacher, one 
man in particular requesting me to discharge 
the teacher and assuring me that if I didn't 
do it his children should never enter the 
school house again, but the teacher is still at 
her desk in that same school room and those 
children continue to attend that particular 
school. I have had one call from the Judson 
school and one from the Center Primary and 
Grammar each, and all the rest of my time 
has been taken up at the South school and I 
can assure you I have been busy most of the 
time. I do not know just how many times I 
have been called upon by the teachers at that 
school but it is safe to say that if I had re- 
ceived fifty cents for each time my salary 
would be more than double what it is. Most 
of the parents in that district seem determin- 
ed not to send their children to the school 
and some of them go so far as to threaten 
the truant officer with dire punishment if 
he comes after them, but he comes just the 
same and gets the children too, and lives to 
tell the story. I have had no calls from the 
Prattville, Gilmore or the North Schools 
during the year. 

Herbert A. Wilbur, 
Truant Officer for Town of Raynham 

1906 



Music Supervisor's 
Report 1924 



To the Superintendent and School Commit- 
tee of Raynham: 

I herewith submit my annual report as 
Music Supervisor in your public schools. On 
the whole the work is moving along as well 
as could be expected under existing condi- 
tions. It would be well to establish one system 
of music and use the books of this system. At 
the present time we are using books of four 
different systems which is unwise and does 
not meet with the best results. 

At the South School since the opening of 
school in September a very commendable 
change has been made in the division of the 
upstairs room. There are not so many grades 
to a teacher, consequently more time can be 
given to the individual. The Intermediate 
room is in urgent need of books. 

It is difficult to improve the tone quality 
of the children in this section as their natural 
speaking voices are harsh and deep. 

At the Gilmore the singing spirit is good 
and there is a satisfactory supply of books. 

Again at the North and Prattville Schools 
there are too many grades for satisfactory 
work. The school is divided into two singing 
classes consequently the amount of time for 
each is insufficient. The graduating class is 
always weak when entering the Gilmore. The 
work in these schools has sometimes been 
handicapped by the fact that the teacher, 
while doing very creditable work in other 
subjects, could not carry a tune. In a build- 
ing of more than one room teachers can ex- 
change work, but it is a hopeless task to get 
acceptable results in music if a teacher cannot 
sing or has a faulty ear. The supervisor can 
present, outline and explain but it remains 
with the room- teacher to do the drilling and 
if she drills day after day on the wrong thing 
how well that wrong thing is perfected. 

At the Centre school conditions are more 
favorable. A new impetus has been given the 
work in music by the purchase of some com- 
munity song books. These were bought with 
money raised by the teachers at social parties. 
Two of the pupils add to the enjoyment of 
the singing by accompanying in tune on the 
piano. 

In June we held a music memory con- 
test which aroused much enthusiasm on the 
part of the children. The pupils heard the 
selections played on the victrola. The names 
of the composer and the composition were 
written on the blackboard. A list of twenty- 
five selections were played in the Grammar 



52 



Grades and fifteen in the Intermediate. Prize 
ribbons were awarded to Arthur Spencer, 
George Plentus and Emily Prado in the Inter- 
mediate Room and to Milford Hardison, 
Merrill Hartshorn and Edna Hiltz in the 
Grammar Room. 

At the State Music Supervisors' Confer- 
ence held in Boston, Nov. 16 of this last year 
it was suggested that all the boys and girls 
in the state this coming year memorize 
"America" "The Star-Spangled Banner" and 
"America the Beautiful". 

Respectfully yours, 

Lois J. Snow, 

Music Supervisor 



RNs Report 1924 



Raynham, Mass., January 16, 1924 
Mr. William J. B. MacDougall, 
Superintendent of Schools, 
Dear Sir: 

I herewith submit my third annual report 
as School Nurse of Raynham. 

During the year 1923 a total of 129 visits 
were made to the Schools as follows: 

Center 24 

South 23 

Judson 14 

North 22 

Gilmore 22 

Prattville 24 

A total of 37 home visits was made by the 
Nurse and 4 children were accompanied to 
the doctors for treatment. 

Beginning with the fall term 315 examina- 
tions were made at the schools by the School 
Physician, Doctor Ralph S. Dean. 31 children 
were found to have diseased adenoids and 
tonsils and their parents were notified. Dur- 
ing the year 6 cases had tonsils removed. 

20 notices were sent informing parents of 
defective teeth in their children. 

Eye and ear examinations to the number of 
334 were made by the Nurse. 18 have defec- 
tive vision and 6 children obtained glasses 
through the Nurse's efforts. 




Apr 4* 



I ! 



UtllUli 



BP 



- ■ 



Home of Lillian Hewitt, RN, 
Raynham 's First School Nurse 

In 1923 there was an epidemic of measles 
at the South and Judson Schools. The North 
and Center Schools had Whooping Cough. 
Prattville School had 3 cases of Scarlet Fever. 

The State Department of Health considers 
it the duty of the School Nurse to introduce 



lunches in the schools. Milk is practically a 
whole food, therefore a body builder. Some- 
thing hot, either cocoa or hot soup to sup- 
plement the lunch brought from home should 
be served at noon for every child who brings 
a lunch, the expense to be met by the parent 
or some social organization. To date we are 
serving hot lunch at the Gilmore School and 
mid-morning milk at the North and Center 
Schools; this plan is strongly approved by the 
teachers who notice a bringing up of the 
average weight of the children as well as the 
increased efficiency of their work. 

In closing I desire to thank all who have 
so kindly cooperated with me in my work 
during the past year. 

Respectfully submitted, 

Lillian M. Hewitt, 

School Nurse 



Walter O'Brien 

It was a cool October night in Easton. 
Walter O'Brien, in the toughest campaign of 
his life was out for another night of door to 
door campaigning. He drove with his helper 
riding along. A master of the personal cam- 
paigning who had never lost an election, he 
never took a single vote for granted. He visit- 
ed four homes that night, three of which 
belonged to Democrats. None had ever met 
him before. All would vote for him. He was 
sincere, humble, and down to earth. He was 
polite and very likable. In his opponent's 
hometown he was nailing down votes. This 
was Wally's last campaign. It was 1968, 
Nixon vs. Humphrey, a year of open change, 
often rebellion as at the Democratic Con- 
vention in Chicago. Bobby Kennedy was 
dead in California. Joe Martin, former Speak- 
er of the House had lost his primary with 
O'Brien's help to young fresh Margaret 
Heckler who captivated Raynham Repub- 
licans and dared to sink the unsinkable. The 
Democrats were out for Heckler's district 
running Annapolis graduate, handsome Coun- 
ty Commissioner Patrick Harrington. And 
they were out for Wally's too having removed 
heavily Republican Norton from his Legisla- 
tive district. This would be his eighth term 
in the State House carrying him through his 
last (seventh) term as selectman. His op- 
ponent, George McGarry was smart with a 
powerful organization in Easton. Young, 
liberal and quite likable he could probably 
have beaten any other candidate. But he was 
up against a man who had many friends and 
these friends were working right alongside 
their candidate to return him to Beacon Hill. 

Who was this Walter O'Brien that Rayn- 
ham oldtimers often speak of? Why are so 
many either very loyal to him or very op- 
posed? What were his contributions to Rayn- 
ham? 

He was born in Raynham on October 14, 
1910. His grandfather, Wilson Wilson had 
worked at the White and Warner Stove 
Company in Taunton's Weir Village as a mold- 
er and lived on King Philip Street. His mother, 
Agnes Wilson O'Brien was a Raynham native. 
Walter J. O'Brien, his father was born in 
Whittenton, went to Boston working as an 
instructor in a roller skating rink, and later 
drove a coach from Boston to Nantasket 
before returning to Raynham to drive a milk 
wagon for C. D. Lincoln. He met Agnes Wil- 
son on his milk route and they married in 
1909. 

Wally was the first son in a family of nine 
children, eight of whom survive today. As a 



54 



boy he became very familiar with the woods 
and fields of Silver Valley and Pratt's Hill. 
He recalls waving at the passengers on the old 
Fall River Boat train as it chugged across King 
Philip Street towards Taunton. 

His first formal education was at the Pratt- 
ville School where Mrs. Marion F. Pettigrove 
and later in succession Miss Ruth E. Baker 
and Miss Emma S. Smith were his teachers in 
grades one through five. Prattville School was 
a one room schoolhouse with five grades in 
the room. In 1916 there were 34 in the class 
with but six in the first grade. By 1919 the 
school held 43 students. Wally recalls the 
little wood stove with its pipe running the 
length of the building. All students walked to 
school then even with snow "up to your belly". 

For his sixth through eighth grades he went 
to the old Gilmore School. The classroom for 
the three grades was downstairs with the up- 
per floor used for special functions. A recent 
graduate of Bridgewater Normal School who 
went on to become the backbone of the 
Taunton Public Schools music program, Rose 
Reilly was Wally's teacher in sixth grade. It 
was also in this year that Mrs. Lillian Hewitt, 
R.N. became Raynham's first school nurse. 
For his last two years at Gilmore School 
Wally had Miss Mae A. English, also fresh out 
of Normal School. Following eighth grade 
graduation he went on to Taunton High School. 
Use of spare time was never a problem for 
boys in the early twenties. There was always 
work to be done, wood to be cut, cows to be 
milked, animals to be fed. Winter however did 
offer sledding opportunities behind the school 
and skating on the ducker pond. 

Taunton High students took the trolley to 
and from the city using a ticket provided by 
the town. Wally recalls teachers from Taunton 
High, Miss Anna Kelliher, Grace Hopkins, and 
Elsie Salthouse. In 1926, he left school to 
work running the dressing plant at Russ 
Hutchinson's duck farm which he later bought 
and managed. 

About this time he took part in several 
sports. Ed Murby ran a sports club where the 
Raynham Drive-In now stands where boys 
could box, wrestle, play football and base- 
ball. Wally took up boxing, was licensed, and 
boxed for four years. He had several bouts 
and recalls doing quite well. He also played 
baseball on the old Raynham Town Team. He 
recalls ball fields where the Milk Bottle stands 
and behind Chet Bearse's. 

Walter O'Brien married his wife, Florence 
in 1933, and lived on Mill Street. His father 
worked for several campaigns in town elec- 
tions and Wally also worked for some candi- 
dates. The most important political name in 



Raynham in the thirties was John Rogers. 
Rogers who lived on White Street and Rogers 
Lane had been in and out of the selectman's 
office since 1919. He was a farmer who raised 
chickens and vegetables. Wally had picked 
asparagus for him as a boy and later dressed 
hens for him. Never one to campaign for 
votes, Rogers was straight forward and frank. 
You either were his friend or his enemy. He 
had quite a temper and could be very tough. 
For awhile John Rogers and Lester Hall were 
in charge of the town government. John 
didn't like to spend money. He consistently 
fought for low taxes and he was instrumental 
in bringing the dog track to town. 

In 1940, Rogers appointed Wally as a 
special police officer for duty at the new 
track. The next year Walter and his wife built 
the house where they now live. In 1946, he 
became a regular police officer and two years 
later was persuaded by his friends to run for 
selectman. He went on his first house to house 
campaign for his own candidacy and won by 
200 votes. In 1950, John Rogers retired from 
town politics leaving in his place a new leader, 
one with greater political gifts than Rogers, 
Walter O'Brien. For the next twenty-one years 
he served as selectman. In the seven terms he 
saw Raynham grow from a small agricultural 
community to a bustling suburban town. The 
change was not always gradual and peaceful. 
There were times when groups within the 
town fought long and hard for changes. The 
Merrill School built in 1956 was one of the 
first such changes. After the thirties, Rayn- 
ham had existed with three small schools, the 
North, Center and South. But with the 
Pleasantfield development, a new school was 
mandatory and the educational services along 
with other municipal services caused a drastic 
rise in the sacred tax rate. To counter this, 
many citizens sought to bring more industry 
to town to enlarge the tax base. Route 44, 
completed in the forties offered a perfect 
setting. The road was too new for any resi- 
dences to have been built yet so a business 
district would be perfect for this highway. 
Wally, and" selectmen Al Porter and Roger 
Hall worked long and hard to bring in new 
business. In 1954, Harold Ashley and Warren 
Hill joined with Arthur Pillsbury, Ralph 
Moye and Mary Varao in forming the first 
Raynham Planning Board. They recom- 
mended zoning laws to successive town meet- 
ings that when accepted began the first 
government of this town with an eye to the 
future. Wally points with pride to the "Gold- 
en Mile" which clearly broadened Raynham's 
tax base and continues to provide jobs and 
services to Raynham people at an ever in- 
creasing rate. 



55 



In 1954, O'Brien ran for the state legis- 
lature in the district comprising Raynham, 
Easton, Norton, and Mansfield. His opponent, 
Albert Wood won in Easton and Mansfield 
by a combined total of 350 votes but O'Brien 
was able to split in Norton and carry Rayn- 
ham by 700. For the next sixteen years, he 
served in the State House of Representatives 
under five governors. 

Walter O'Brien believes that a public of- 
ficial in an elective office is a public servant. 
It is therefore his responsibility to help as 
many of his constituents as he possibly can 
in cutting through the red tape of bureau- 
cracy to get things done, in filing legislation 
for constituents and in doing favors for his 
district. He always held to his low tax ideolo- 
gy and the equally important philosophy that 
government closest to the people is most ef- 
fective and efficient. Now that the give-away 
programs of the late sixties are beginning to 
bankrupt the state, many who questioned 
O'Brien's political views are finding that he 
was very right in many of them. He fought 
with all his heart the state takeover of wel- 
fare from the towns. We needn't say any more 
about the results of that measure alone in its 
tax impact on the commonwealth. He says 
that the welfare takeover "hurt us worst of 
all". Another issue on which O'Brien took a 
tough stand that lost him support was his 
opposition to a cut in the size of the house 
of representatives. There are those who 
would benefit from a house cut, but they 
don't live in the small towns. Fewer repre- 
sentatives mean fewer and larger districts 
which mean representatives being elected 
from population centers and good-bye to 
representation of Raynham, Easton, or 
Norton. The press was so strong on the house 
cut that at one time opposition to it was 
equated with treason. Now many realize that 
O'Brien was right. 

He cites his roughest selectman campaign 
as his last against Tom Coughlin in which he 
again made his house to house visits. He 
buried his opponent 1514-861 in the largest 
percentage of votes cast at a local election 
yet. It was a tremendous vote of confidence 
in Walter O'Brien. 

So it was 1968 again and George Mc Garry 
was knocking on the door to the state house 



too. He had a pleasant way with people and 
saw a good chance. Easton, Mansfield and 
Raynham had higher Democratic registrations 
than ever before, so high that the word Dem- 
ocrat was not even considered obscene in 
town anymore. A heavy vote was expected 
for Hubert Humphrey who was endorsed by 
the Globe and Massachusetts never liked 
Nixon. O'Brien had made many friends in 
fourteen years on the hill but he also had 
enemies who were rallying to McGarry. Mc- 
Garry's strategy was to hold O'Brien low in 
Raynham and win in Easton. But he was up 
against a veteran who didn't make political 
mistakes. In Easton, young attorney John 
Keech worked hard and Mansfield News 
editor Howard Fowler printed some fine 
editorials. 

By election day, everyone was ready. But 
most Raynham Republicans were working 
solely for Walter. The support for Peg Heckler 
was strong, but Nixon would lose Raynham. 
The old strategies of driving voters after four 
o'clock were employed again for one last 
time, "a last Hurrah". 

That night at the Republican headquarters 
where the Center Post Office now is at Tracy's 
corner, a large blackboard was up. A TV 
blared Huntley and Brinkley. And two long 
tables at the end of the room held coffee, 
sandwiches and drinks of every description. 
By ten-thirty you couldn't turn around in 
there and the returns began trickling in. At 
first Wally thought McGarry looked too 
strong in Raynham. He had never seen an op- 
ponent get 829 votes in Raynham before and 
was afraid Easton would carry McGarry. But 
then the Easton bunch arrived. Art Dunn, 
John Keech, and Mackenzie Smith were 
ecstatic. McGarry had taken Easton by only 
two hundred votes and Mansfield by but five. 
Walter had 1089 Raynham votes MORE than 
McGarry and was home. The "plasma" flowed 
and everyone there knew that their legislative 
seat was back in Raynham for two more years, 
perhaps the last two it ever would be but no- 
one dreamed of that. It was a happy time and 
as Humphrey led, and Peg Heckler, down 
9000 in Fall River began her victory party, 
O'Brien's political career began its close. 



56 



Communication 

from Rainham, England 

London Borough of Havering 

Whybridge Junior School 

Blacksmith Lane Rainham 

Essex RM13 7AH 

Telephone Rainham 52870 

Headmaster L. F. Thomason 

Date June, 8th: 76. 

Dear Mrs. Largey, 

I am enclosing a list of signatures of every 
child and adult concerned with the running 
of this part of the life of Rainham, Essex, 
England. At least, everyone who was acces- 
sible at this period of our communal history! 

With our names we send our best wishes 
to Raynham 'over the water' and our hope 
that your celebrations of the Bicentennial 
Anniversary of Independence have been, are 
being and will be immensely successful, 
joyous and memorable. 

Independence is a great thing. So is the link 
which our name provides. Greater still is that 
of the human spirit, the well that bubbles 
with kindness, compassion, sympathy and 
fellow-feeling. 

To you personally, to your committee 
and to all Raynham — special happiness this 
particular fourth of July and for the rest of 
this exciting anniversary year. 

Yours sincerely, 

L. F. Thompson 

Headmaster 

Mrs. Arthur Largey , 

The Secretary, 

Raynham Bicentennial Committee, 

89, Jackson Drive, 

Raynham, Massachusetts, 02767. 



Raynham Celebrates 
the Bicentennial 

In 1975 Bicentennial Committees were set 
up in towns and cities throughout the United 
States to coordinate activities commemorat- 
ing America's birth. In Raynham, the com- 
mittee began by seeking ideas from the towns- 
people on how they would like to observe 
this event. Robert McGuire, the first chairman 
of Raynham 's committee who is employed by 
the United States Navy in Newport arranged 
to have an anchor donated to the town to be 
used to honor the memory of Raynham's 
parent industry, the iron works. As plans 
progressed on this project, the committee 
was enticed by the State Bicentennial Com- 
mission to apply for matching funds that 
would finance an exhaustive research of the 
existing iron works records and publish the 
findings. Before application could be made 
for these funds, all plans had to be finalized. 
So the local committee went to work inter- 
viewing prospective authors and after three 
months of frequent meetings selected a re- 
search team to delve into the old iron works 
books and prepared the necessary application 
for matching funds. It was with shock and 
despair that we learned of the refusal of our 
application. Some of us took a more realistic 
view of the whole concept of state matching 
funds and determined to avoid any future 
entanglements with this type of project. 

But worse, our Bicentennial Committee, 
after planning for over a year on a compre- 
hensive bicentennial project found itself 
facing 1976 with no plans, with its hopes 
dashed by state bureaucracy. At this point, 
we matured. We learned that the most im- 
portant goals to set for 1976 were those that 
involved Raynham and remained within the 
town and that if we were to make 1976 a 
time for honoring the past, celebrating the 
present, and planning for the future, we'd 
better get moving. In December, representa- 
tives of all -of Raynham's clubs and organiza- 
tions along with the Historic Commission, the 
Conservation Commission and the Bicenten- 
nial Commission sat down to salvage 1976. 
And in the next five months they succeeded 
in working out plans for a fine celebration 
week in May and the publication of this book- 
let. 

May was chosen because of the comfort- 
able weather and the fact that schools still 
had a month to run. We would not be com- 
peting with bicentennial activities in the cities 
and in state and nationwide extravaganzas. 
We planned simply to coordinate a week oi 



57 



events in which each town organization could 
"do it's thing". It proved to be a super week. 

May 8 was election day in town. One of 
Raynham's virtues is its Saturday elections. 
Most voters can vote at their leisure and there 
isn't a better night in the week for victory 
parties. The day began bright and windy. 
Tony DaCosta rose early that morning and 
the first thing he saw when he looked out his 
window was the large bicentennial banner 
that stretched across North Main Street 
flapping wildly in the stiff breeze. By nine- 
thirty, Don Francis had the sign well in 
control with his timely call to the lighting 
plant. 




Admiral Thomas Morris (U.S. Navy) presents anchor 

to Raynham May 16, 1976. Abo shown left to right: 

Robert Newton, Richard Hill, David Fisher (just 

behind the Admiral), Kristen Hill, Harold Ashley , 

Florence O'Brien and Gladys Walters. 

At the Merrill School it looked like a con- 
test of sports jackets. Al Porter and Bill 
Powers were so strikingly attired that some- 
one mentioned the possibility of prohibiting 
their standing in front of the same precinct 
at the same time. Their bright colored coats 
were enhanced by the sun. Meanwhile, Art 
Pillsbury and Alice Powers, decked in yellow 
drew eyes like magnets, that is until a young 
lady in tennis shorts came in to vote. At this 
point eyes gravitated from the politicians 
in concert. The ten o'clock line up at Merrill 
School was imposing. Representative Peter 
Flynn was furthest down the line flanked by 
George Fairbanks, Ronald Cugno, Kevin 
Flynn, and Alice Powers. And just before you 
walked in to vote, you had to see or shake 
hands with friendly Jack Lynn (for water 
district commissioner). Henry Ellis lost his 
boy at one point in the morning but found 
him in safe hands down in the Senior Citizens 
Fair. 

Ralph Hagan and his Council on Aging had 
outdone themselves with their Senior Day in 
the auditorium. The most welcome coffee 
drew candidates and voters alike to the warm 
sanctuary of the hall. Craft displays, paint- 
ings, weaving, and exhibits were attractively 



arranged around Raynham's nicest people. 
Later in the day were sing-a-longs and all day 
there was plenty of good fellowship. We know 
that the Senior Citizens will continue this 
activity on future election days. In addition 
to serving a useful purpose to the voters, it 
is a subtle way of reminding all aspiring poli- 
ticians of Senior Power and its importance. 

Meanwhile, at Gilmore Hall with its old 
world flavor, another army of solicitors 
greeted the voters. Raynham elections are al- 
ways personal affairs and a chance to greet 
old friends but more so at Gilmore Hall. Al 
Porter who has been in town office since 
1934 and continues to offer us his services 
has clearly loved his politics. His enjoyment 
of the election day is in his every handshake. 
This has been his life, and win or lose, he 
loves it. 

The contests in election '76 were interest- 
ing. There was an eight person race for school 
committee. Chairman George Fairbanks who 
had served since 1967 and Barbara Sleezar, 
first elected in 1964 had a battle to keep their 
seats against challengers Kevin Flynn, Alice 
Powers, Ron Cugno, Henry Ellis, Tom Sims, 
and Virginia Wynn. The issues varied depend- 
ing on your favorite. One did not win elec- 
tion to the Raynham School Committee in 
1976 by attacking the school system. A fine 
administration and loyal parent support for 
many fine teachers had built Raynham's 
Schools into excellent shape in the past 
twenty years. For assessor there were two 
well qualified candidates. Charles Barnes of 
Broadway had an intimate knowledge of real 
estate and excellent credentials for the job. 
Opposing him was popular and equally able 
Raynham Giant football coach Mike Fitz- 
simmons. These two had worked hard in 
campaigning and were greeting voters at the 
polls. The selectmans' race was the big inter- 
est with two former selectmen, Art Pillsbury 
and Al Porter opposing incumbent Don 
McKinnon. Pillsbury had a long record of 
service to the town which included one term 
as selectman. Porter, the veteran of town 
politics served on the school committee from 
1934 to 1941 and in several other offices 
before being elected selectman in 1950. 
Porter was selectman for 24 years before his 
defeat by Harry Carey in 1974. A colorful 
figure with class and style, Porter also im- 
pressed many with his mastery of town fi- 
nances during his tenure and he had several 
loyal supporters. 

Predictions on the school committee race 
that morning gave it back to the incumbents 
with such a large field. There were several 
predictions for Fitzsimmons too based on a 



58 



careful campaign strategy. But in the select- 
men's race, people were not predicting. 

All afternoon the people filed into Gil- 
more Hall and Merrill School, shaking hands, 
buying tickets to Troop 43 's Ham and Bean 
supper, buying candy bars, and finally leav- 
ing intact. Around four, the strategists among 
the candidates began the calling of those who 
had not yet voted who they knew they could 
count on. Most close elections are won from 
four to closing and the old pros were hard 
at it. 

By eight o'clock, election '76 was all over. 
2426 votes had been cast with several more 
absentees, a record turnout. The counting 
began. 

Votes are counted in blocks of fifty and re- 
corded. In the North, one has to eavesdrop 
closely to get any figures while at Merrill, 
Merrall Viles will always read them loudly for 
all to record. Generally the first few blocks 
give a random sampling from which one can 
deduce the ultimate winner. But in a close 
contest, a few votes either way on a late 
block will decide. The assessor race ended 
first with Fitzsimmons a two to one victor. 
His campaign organization told the story. 
Mike had run a logical, well planned strategy 
with street volunteers that carried him through 
easily, a perfect example of good organization. 

The selectman's race was not so easy. Mc- 
Kinnon forged ahead in the Center while 
Porter did likewise in the North. The question 
was whether Porter would take enough of a 
lead in the North to overcome McKinnon's 
lead at the Center. He never did and McKinnon 
came out with 1,052 to Porter's 740 and Pills- 
bury 's 531. 

In the School Committee race, five candi- 
dates began to look well. In the North, Fair- 
banks jumped ahead with Powers closely be- 
hind. Sleezar was third with Flynn and Wynn 
right behind after eight blocks. But at Merrill 
School, Powers was leading strongly with 
Fairbanks second, Sleezar third, and Flynn 
and Cugno behind after 17 blocks. It looked 
as if Mrs. Sleezar would lose her seat at that 
point. But then the counting took a very un- 
usual turn. Generally a block is a random 
sample and the final count represents some 
multiple of the early count. But in Barbara's 
case, she began in seventh place and picked 
up strength all evening until with the final 
count, she nosed out her chairman by 15 
votes to win her fifth term. Barbara Sleezar 
has always been a quiet candidate preferring 
not to make speeches or knock on doors but 
to abide by the will of the people who are 
free to accept or reject her on the basis of 
her work on the committee. Her lack of cam- 



paigning should not be construed as a lack of 
enthusiasm for the position but rather a per- 
sonal philosophy. She has served the Rayn- 
ham voter well. Mrs. Powers won because of 
a hard working telephone campaign that con- 
tacted many voters very quietly without the 
press and publicity but with that voter 
strength that wins elections. So it was now 
May 9, Mother's Day and Election '76 in 
Raynham was over. The suntanned faces of 
the candidates and workers rejoiced and com- 
miserated at a mulitude of parties. Democracy 
had spoken again. 

And Bicentennial Week had just begun. 
Monday night at the First Congregational 
Church, the Amariah Hall Singers offered a 
few tunes and musicks of early Raynham. 
The songs of Hopkinson and Oliver Shaw to 
the harpsichord accompaniment once more 
sounded in Raynham. William Billings, and 
Amariah Hall tunes were sung in the style 
of their time and for an evening, we were in 
touch with the past. 

The schools were into bicentennial activi- 
ties on every level. On Tuesday the Junior 
High's E Pluribus Unum featured the influ- 
ence of the traditions of Europe, Asia, and 
Africa on America. Choral readings and folk 
dances were performed and eight classes dis- 
played food, art, home crafts, and costumes. 

The choruses of Lillie B. Merrill School 
performed on Wednesday night and on Thurs- 
day the Junior High Choruses and bands per- 
formed. The Friday night Band Concert of 
the Bridgewater-Raynham High School Con- 
cert Band and Choir was superb. A stereo tape 
of this performance was later broadcast along 




North School Celebration: L-R; Michael Powers, 
Jennifer Chase and Kevin Alvamaz 

with the Amariah Hall concert on WRLM's 
Sunday evening show, Adventures in Music, 
the only such program featuring classical 
music produced outside of Boston. On July 
4, W-PEP broadcast the band concert. 



59 



Saturday began with the Park Department's 
largest Field Day yet. Races and field events 
for all ages were run under Lou Emond's di- 
rection. By two o'clock, the chickens were 
done for the Lions Club chicken barbeque 
behind the fire station. After the food was 
gone the Lions prepared the fire station for 
an evening dance which proved to be a great 
time. 

Sunday dawned bright defying forcasts of 
clouds and rain. And the weather held for the 
parade. Lining up the parade near Mammoth 
Mart was the Raynham Jaycee Chapter with 
Dick Fiske in charge. Fiske had everything 
well in hand and by one o'clock the Fire 
Chief's car followed by Chief Januse and his 
men in full dress uniform stepped out onto 
South Street. A line of fire trucks followed 
with scremaing whistles and sirens. The color 
guard of Post 405 American Legion led Rep- 
resentative Peter Flynn and the selectmen, 
Don Francis, Harry Carey, and Don McKin- 
non. Then followed a large flatbed truck 
driven by Bucky Glavin with the Lions Club 
banner and the huge 5000 pound Danforth 
anchor prepared by Lieutenant John Mc- 
Gillvray for the occasion. A smart looking 
Navy Wave Color guard followed the anchor 
preceding an open car driven by King Lion 
Dave Fisher with Navy personnel Rear Ad- 
miral Thomas Morris, Captain Charles Horn, 
Lt. McGillvray and Officer Richard Anwright. 
The Bridgewater-Raynham High School Band 
followed. 

A reviewing stand on the site of the first 
iron works proved to be the ideal vantage 
point to see the parade. The line of march 
descended a curving incline on South Main 
Street before it passed the stand offering 
a wide view of several units. On the review- 
ing stand were a group of Honorary Grand 
Marshalls selected by the combined planning 
committees for their service to the town. 
There was always the chance that some de- 
serving citizen would be overlooked in se- 
lecting these Grand Marshalls and no doubt 
some were. But it was felt strongly that the 
bicentennial should in some way show its 
gratitude to those who had worked so hard 
for their community, an honoring of the past 
as well as a celebrating of the present. 

The ceremony at the reviewing stand was 
brief. Chairman Richard Hill introduced King 
Lion David Fisher who had arranged the 
transportation of the anchor to Raynham. 
Fisher introduced Admiral Morris who noted 



that since the Raynham Anchor Forge had 
turned out several anchors for the United 
States Navy between 1835 and 1876, it was 
only fitting for the Navy to return one to 
Raynham. Chairman of the Board of Select- 
men Don McKinnon accepted for the town 
and Ruth Danforth, chairperson of the 
Historic Commission accepted for the re- 
sponsibility of keeping and caring for the 
anchor. And the parade marched by. 

Pat Connors and her High Steppers, Ralph 
Hagan and his shotgun in the Sociable Seniors 
Float, the Mddleboro Chowder and Marching 
Society who won best band, the VFW Twist- 
ers from Weymouth, the most original float, 
Anvils Incorporated, the Space Center float 
and beautiful Miss Bicentennial, Sheila 
Ducharme, of Taunton completed the first 
division. Then the Taunton Junior Police 
Band, the Massachusetts Fife and Drum Corps 
from Uxbridge and the Little C's marched by. 
The newly formed Easton Militia in their 
home-made costumes with regulation pikes 
were followed by the always stunning Taun- 
ton Colonial Minutemen who are an authentic 
and welcome addition to any parade. A color- 
ful selection of antique autos followed and in 
the distance one could hear the approaching 
Silver Lake Regional High School Band. As 
they neared the reviewing stand, this out- 
standing marching unit suddenly became a 
fife and drum corps silencing all other instru- 
ments. Then, in front of the stand they put 
on a spectacular show. The band's obvious 
pride and spirit added to its musicianship and 
judges awarded it the high school band trophy. 

Troop 42 led the boy scouts followed by 
Troop 43 and a fine float. The Girl Scout 
units were followed by General Jack Lynn 
and the largest contingent of the parade, the 
Little League. Mike Pollock and his wife ac- 
companied Pack 33 while Frank Gendreau 
and his wife on a bicycle built for two led 
bike riding Pack 43. A fine Jaycee Float end- 
ed this community parade that passed scores 
of lawns with family parties. 

After Marge Largey and Pat White had dis- 
pensed all the punch and cookies, and the last 
marchers had departed, the Legion hosted a 
fitting reception in their new hall. Honorary 
Grand Marshalls and friends who had worked 
together for the past five months celebrated 
together on the conclusion of Bicentennial 
Week in Raynham, a community week which 
the town shared in preparing and enjoying. 



60 



Honorary Grand Marshalls 

Mrs. Lillie B. Merrill was Raynham's Town 
Clerk and Treasurer from August 15, 1928, 
until her retirement in the spring of 1966. 
The Pleasant Street School was renamed in 
her honor. She currently lives in Washington, 
D.C. with her daughter. She traveled to Rayn- 
ham for the Bicentennial and visited the 
school that bears her name on Friday, May 14, 
where she was serenaded by the school chorus. 

Walter W. O'Brien and Florence O'Brien: 
Walter was a selectman from 1948 to 1969 
and a representative to the General Court 
from 1954 to 1970. 

Albert Porter was a member of the Rayn- 
ham School Committee from 1934 to 1941 
and a Selectman from 1950 to 1974. 

Russell M. Reid was selectman from 1924 
to 1930. 

Roger Hall was a selectman from 1955 to 
1964. 

Miss Barbara Sullvan was a teacher at the 
North School and Gilmore School and later 
principal of the North School and the Lillie 
B. Merrill School from 1924 until 1969 when 
she retired. 

Mrs. Lillian Hewitt, R.N. was the first 
School Nurse in the Raynham Public Schools. 
She served from 1921 to 1955. 

Mrs. Olga Markowski was appointed to the 
school committee in 1961 to fill the vacancy 
caused by the resignation of Eleanor Faloon. 
She had previously served on the School 
Building Committee for the Merrill School. 
She was elected chairman of the Raynham 
School Committee and during her chairman- 
ship, Raynham became an independent school 
district from West Bridgewater, largely 
through her efforts and those of Edward 
Cameron. Her committee elected E. Joseph 
LaLiberte as Raynham's first full time School 
Superintendent. After being defeated for re- 
election in 1967, she chaired the building 
committee which added the two story addi- 
tion, music room and Chamberlain Gymnasium 
to the Junior High School. She also chaired 
the committee that named the Pleasant Street 
School after Lillie B. Merrill. 

Mrs. Helen Cameron is the widow of Ed- 
ward Cameron, member of the Raynham 
School Committee 1962-1968 and of the 
Bridgewater - Raynham School Committee 
1968-1974. 

Mrs. Kay Heywood was a pioneer in Girl 
Scouting in Raynham. She is the widow of 
Doctor Richard Heywood who served on the 
Raynham School Committee from 1951 to 
1961 and on the Bridgewater Raynham Reg- 
ional High School Committee from 1961 to 



1964. He was also a key person in operating 
the Lions Club Community Band from 1955 
to 1965. 

Mr. Ralph Moye served on the Raynham 
School Committee from 1951 to 1960. 

Mrs. Warren Hill has been music supervisor 
in the Raynham Public Schools since 1947. 
She has also served in Girl Scout leadership 
during this period. She is the widow of War- 
ren W. Hill, a founder and member of the 
planning Board 1954-1974. 

Mr. Joseph Varao was a Constable for the 
Town of Raynham from 1929 to 1934 and 
Raynham's second Police Chief in 1935. 

Mr. Harold Ashley was an assessor from 
1937 to 1943 and a founder of the planning 
board in 1954 on which he has remained to 
this day. He has also served in several other 
capacities including the Merrill School Build- 
ing Committee. 

Mr. Embert Hall has served the town in 
numerous functions, as Inspector of Cattle, 
Barns, Slaughterhouses, as Fish Warden 
1926-1932 and as Cemetery Commissioner 
since 1939. 

Mr. George Mador served on the Finance 
Committee from 1942-1952 and was the first 
King Lion of the Raynham Lions Club in 
1946. 

Attorney Paul Cushman has served as 
Raynham's Town Council since 1956. He has 
also been instrumental in founding the 
Raynham Historical Society. 

Mr. Arthur Schutzmeister served on the 
finance committee 1941-1966. 

Mr. and Mrs. George Powers: Mr. Powers 
has served on the Planning Board since 1963. 

Mr. John Lovenbury served on the Planning 
Board since 1962. 

Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Milliken have been 
instrumental in formulating activities for the 
Senior Citizens. 

Mr. Ralph Hagan is Chairman of the Coun- 
cil on Aging and has organized several Senior 
Citizens activities. 

Mrs. Alice Cote is the widow of Rosario 
Cote who served on the Finance Committee 
1950-1953 and as Assessor from 1954 until 
his death in 1972. 

Mr. Arthur Walters served on the Finance 
Committee from 1949-1973. 

Mr. James Hauck served on the Board of 
Assessors from 1945 to 1976. 

Mrs. Maria Machado is the widow of Leon 
O. Machado who served as Highway Surveyor 
from 1954-1963. 



61 



Miss Jedidah Goodick taught at and was 
principal of the South School from 1925 to 
her retirement in 1956. 

Mrs. Loretta Murphy was a teacher and 
later principal of the North School from 1946 
to 1963. 

The Golden Cane Award was presented to 
Mr. Gifford Dexter, 251 Broadway who at 
92 is Raynham's oldest citizen. 

A History of Raynham? 
Why Not? 

This booklet has not attempted to give a 
complete history of Raynham. Rather, it has 
attempted to whet the appetite in hopes that 
Raynham in preparation for her 250th An- 
niversary in 1981 will begin now to under- 
take the compilation of an exhaustive local 
history, one that will encompass everything 
from James Leonard to Don McKinnon and 
beyond to 1981. It is a time consuming and 
exhaustive chore to research a community's 
past. But we owe it to those who have labored 
to make our town what it is and to those 
future citizens who deserve to know of their 
heritage to make the sacrifice necessary to 
do this job. Now is the time to begin so that 
by 1981, we'll have something to pass on to 
our children that will memorialize all those 
who contributed to Raynham rather than just 
those who we could uncover in five months. 
We hope the readers of this booklet will take 
an increased interest in Raynham's past as 
they plan for the future building on past ac- 
complishments and learning from past advice. 
This is the spirit of the bicentennial, the 
"Spirit of Raynham '76.". 



62 



Subscribers 

Mrs. Benny Abney 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard R. Adams 

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Adams 

J. F. Alden 

Mrs. Theodore J. Aleixo 

Ames Free Library of Easton, Inc. 

Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. Anderson 

John R. Anderson 

Lillian J. Archer 

Thomas R. Atchison 

Mr. and Mrs. John Barros 

Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Barry 

Mr. and Mrs. F. J. Bassett 

Rev. and Mrs. Merlin T. Batt 

Mr. and Mrs. William Becker 

Mr. and Mrs. George Bellamy 

Shirley Brush Bennett 

William H. Bennett, M.D. 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard Bergman 

Bruce Beuttel 

Mrs. Gert Black 

Anne E. Bolen 

Florance Bonaparte 

Charlotte M. Borden 

Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Borden 

Paul A. Borsari 

Robert W. Boule 

Bridgewater-Raynham Regional 

High School 
H. Walker Briggs 
Rodney P. Briggs 
Ellen M. Brimmner 
Richard W. Brown 
Mr. and Mrs. M. Butler 
David Cabana 
Mrs. Daniel H. Cabral 
Eleanor B. Calvin 
Mrs. Edward F. Cameron 
Robert L. Campbell 
Ernest Cardoza 
Mr. and Mrs. Harry Carey 
Alice E. Carlson 
Norrine Carlson 
Walter Carlson, Jr. 
Thomas M. Casiato 
Henry Caswell 
Lydia M. Caswell 
Daniel G. Chartier 
Mrs. Leon W. Chase 
Mr. and Mrs. Paul W. Chicca 
Colin Chisholm 
Robert E. Christine 
Bessie Ciarcia 
Ms. Patricia Cochrane 
Mr. and Mrs. A. J. Colpitts 
Mr. and Mrs. Stephen P. Costa 
Mrs. Alice Cote 
Edith C. Cote 

Mr. and Mrs. William G. Cote 
Mr. and Mrs. Robert S. Coveney 



Carlton S. Crapo, Jr. 

Craven's Catering Service 

Mr. and Mrs. Paull M. Cushman 

Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Czahar 

Walter J. Czerny 

Dr. and Mrs. Edward D'Andrea 

Fred G. DaCosta 

Glyde U. Dauphinee 

Mr. and Mrs. Charles Davis 

Mrs. George Davis 

Beatrice I. Day 

Mr. and Mrs. David B. Dean 

Mr. and Mrs. John DeArruda 

Mr. and Mrs. Manuel DeMello 

Thomas W. Devereaux, Jr. 

Mr. and Mrs. Gifford Dexter 

Mr. and Mrs. Frederick C. Dimock 

Vicky Dixon 

Herbert A. Doyle 

Mr. and Mrs. E. Otis Dyer 

Phyllis Eaton 

Robert E. Eastman and 

Dorothy G. Eastman 

Mrs. Madeleine T. Edmonds 

Dr. and Mrs. Roger P. Ellis 

Joseph Ferreira 

William H. Ferrier 

Alvin Firmin 

David T. Floyd 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard C. Flemming 

Henry W. Foley 

Miss Bernice A. Fountain 

Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Francis 

Mary J. Fuller 

Mr. and Mrs. Anibal L. Furtado 

Mr. and Mrs. Roland N. Gadry 

Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Garshick 

Bernard Goodless-Berlen K. G. Corp. 

Dr. and Mrs. David Gouveia 

Richard P. Grabarz 

Marlin T. Graham 

Mr. and Mrs. William F. Graves 

Russell W. Green 

Mr. and Mrs. David Groves 

Mr. and Mrs. Matthew Grzywacz 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard L. Gutterson. 

Ms. Laura Hall 

Isabelle M. Hannant 

Ann M. Hardy 

Barbara Hathaway 

James J. Hauck, Sr. 

Maurice L. Hayden, Jr. 

Mrs. Arthur O. Heath 

Lillian Hewitt, R.N. 

Mrs. Richard E. Heywood 

William Heywood 

Mrs. Frances R. Hill 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard Hill 

Mr. and Mrs. David Hoey 

John D. Holloway 

63 



Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert Holmes 

John C. Holmes 

Hartley Howland 

Mr. Andrew N. Isaacsen 

Edna G. Isenor 

Mrs. Elaine F. Jackson 

Stanley Januse 

Henry Jaskola 

Catherine E. Kaladin 

T. E. Kapala 

James L. Kasputis 

Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth E. Keith 

Frederick Kelley 

Mrs. Ruth L. Kendall 

Mr. and Mrs. John Kerrigan 

Kir-Pac Construction Co. 

Dorothy H. Knox 

Barbara La Flamme 

Joan Lamson 

Leo Landgraf 

Mr. and Mrs. Arthur M. Largey, Jr. 

Ann M. Laughlin 

Elsie Laverty 

Elaine Lemmo 

Donald S. Leonard 

John Wood Leonard 

George V. Leonard 

Marian H. Leonard 

Paul C. Leonard 

T. Richard Leonard 

Mr. and Mrs. Clarence M. Lewis 

Mr. and Mrs. Donald A. Littlefield 

Mrs. John G. Loja, Jr. 

Mrs. Susan L. Loomis 

Arnold Lopes, Jr. 

Helen B. Lounsbury 

John Lovenbury 

Louise Lunn 

Mr. and Mrs. John P. Lynn 

George Macabello 

Geraldine Malmberg 

Mr. and Mrs. Francis Machado 

Mrs. George MacDonald 

Mr. and Mrs. Robert McGuire, Jr. 

John G. Manganaro II 

June M. Manganaro 

May fair Cafe, Inc. 

Nancy McCarthy 

Mr. and Mrs. Joseph H. McCusker 

Linda McGarry 

Robert D. Mclntyre 

Alfred Mailloux 

Mr. and Mrs. John Majkut 

Mr. Anthony Mannelta 

Mr. Lionel N. Marcotte 

Mr. and Mrs. John Mariorenzi 

Raymond J. Marquis 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard A. Mastria 

Mrs. Barbara Medas 

Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Merriam, Jr. 

Kenneth J. Meyer 



Leo O. Michaud 

Alice Miller 

Mr. and Mrs. Chester J. Millett, Jr. 

Raymond G. Milliken 

Michael L. Monoghan 

Mr. and Mrs. John R. Moore 

Sadie M. Motta 

Doris F. Murphy 

Mrs. Daniel Murphy 

John D. Murphy 

Mr. and Mrs. Paul C. Murphy 

Mr. and Mrs. Russell D. Myers 

Richard Nelligan 

Mrs. Nancy Ness 

Mr. and Mrs. Robert Newton 

Mr. and Mrs. John Niles 

John Noblin 

Mrs. Leo F. Nourse 

Mr. and Mrs. Kendall Nye 

Mrs. Laura O'Keefe 

Old Colony Historical Society 

Barbara A. Oliveira 

Chris Osburn 

Frank L. Pacheco 

Frank E. Park 

Dr. and Mrs. Stanley R. Parker, Jr. 

Gail M. Peaslee 

Arthur R. Pelletier 

Alfred J. Perry 

Dwight F. Perry 

Clifford E. Pierce 

John Pillsbury 

Dora & George Pine, Wm. & Richard 

Louise W. Porter 

Mr. and Mrs. Albert Raggiani 

Edith C. Ray 

Raynham Auto Sales 

Raynham Lions Club 

Raynham Lions Club 

Raynham Public Schools 

Raynham Police Association 

Raynham Town Clerks Office 

Robert M. Reddy 

Ellsworth H. Reed 

Jeffrey Reed 

Newcomb Reid 

Russell M. Reid 

Mrs. Stephen Rhodes 

Miss Mildred Rich 

Bertha E. Richardson 

Sidney K. Rideout 

Tony Riggillo 

Randolph Riley 

Mr. and Mrs. Donald K. Roberson 

John A. Roberson 

Mr. and Mrs. J. Douglas Robertson 

Ricardo Rodrigues 

Philip J. Roos 

Manuel F. Rose, Jr. 

Mrs. Lee F. Rowland 

Mrs. Irene Rowley 



Dr. and Mrs. David Rubin 

John G. Rugg 

M. E. Salter 

Edward J. Sears 

Mr. and Mrs. Louis Secatore 

Mr. and Mrs. Albert C. Seymour 

Richard H. Sharland 

Mr. and Mrs. Augustus G. Shove 

Arthur L. Silva 

Mrs. Grace Silva 

Margaret Silva 

Mrs. Frank R. Simmons 

Barbara L. Sleezer 

Jerry P. Smallhoover Family 

Walter Smith 

Audrey A. Solomon 

Arthur G. Souza 

Delores E. Spankenbell 

John Spaulding 

Mr. and Mrs. Russell C. Spearin 

Arthur Spencer 

Mrs. E. Steek 

Robert Stevens 

Mrs. John Susko 

Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Swartz 

Taunton Public Library 

Kelly Tate 

Mr. and Mrs. Paul Taylor 

May A. Thomas 

William O. Thomas 

Lowell F. Thompson 

Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Thompson 

Mrs. Nancy L. Thurston 

Elizabeth J. Tipping 

William and Marie Tobin 

Edwin A. Tomawski 

Miss Mary C. R. Tracy 

Mr. and Mrs. Elroy L. Trefethen 

Minnie E. Turner 

Frank G. Ventura 

Joseph Viera 

Merrall W. Viles 

Joyce E. Wallace 

Arthur L. Walters 

Mr. and Mrs. Robert G. Waterman 

Mrs. Andrew Weiland 

Mr. and Mrs. John Welch 

Mrs. Thomas E. West 

Mr. and Mrs. Richard A. White 

The Wheelers 

Howard K. White 

Mr. and Mrs. Duane E. Wheeler 

Mr. and Mrs. Maxwell P. Whitters 

Donald C. Wilbur 

Anne Williams 

Hayden M. Williams 

James B. Williams 

Mary Williams 

Mr. and Mrs. Walter B. Williams 

Dr. and Mrs. Bruce K. Willitts 

Mr. and Mrs. Paul Witherell 



Gene L. Wong 

(China Garden Restaurant) 
Mrs. A. H. Wyman 
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph M. Varao 
Mr. and Mrs. David Yelle 
Mr. and Mrs. George A. Yelle 
Mrs. Joseph E. Yelle 
Arthur K. York 
Ms. Laurene L. York 
Lillian Young 

Mr. and Mrs. Thomas J. Young 
Helen M. Zellner 



64 




f/ 



? 5~J 



a 



'ffrZ-e- 4t> yt^t K****V*- -y>o/H ~Hi* L'hVz^U 



Seth Dean 



SOLDIERS OF THE REVOLUTION 

Mr. Seth Dean volunteered as a soldier at the age of seventeen, when the 
British force occupied Boston. Mr. Joseph Shaw and other young men of 
this town were enrolled with him in a company, of which John King was 
Captain, and Noah Hall, Lieutenant. Seth Dean was thus in the first cam- 
paign of the war, and went into the army then assembled around Boston, 
under command of Washington, whose headquarters were in Cambridge. 
He then served during a term of eight months. 

He was on Boston Neck when Bunker Hill battle was fought, June 17, 
1775, and saw the burning of Charlestown. During that battle, and on sev- 
eral successive days, cannon balls were flying over the Neck, where he was 
stationed. 

Returning home in January, he enjoyed repose but a few weeks, for in the 
inclement month of February, 1776, he returned again to the army and 
served two months at Cambridge, Winter Hill and Dorchester Heights. 

Mr. Dean was with the troops when the British evacuated Boston. The 
cannonading commenced in the town at twelve o'clock at night, and created 
much alarm among our people. At daylight, he saw the British go on board 
their ships, and leave the harbor. This was a day of rejoicing. Then Wash- 
ington marched in his forces, and took possession of the town. 

Afterwards, Mr. Dean was in the army on Rhode Island, when the French 
fleet, under Count de Grasse, had come to our assistance, and taken pos- 
session of the Island. 



BRIOGEWATER-R' 
REGIONAL HIGH SCHOO' 
BRIOGEWATER 




■A 



S/f 



' o 



G e 



w A 




r £fi^ 



MAP 




TOWN OF RAYNHAM 

BRISTOL COUNTY - MASSACHUSETTS 



Papulation - - I96S Cansut - 0J>37 



TO 
BOSTON 



f<? 



Compiled and Reproduced by 
ROLFE W- B^RNS 

TOWN PLOTTIHQ CffclNEE* 

JANUARY A9G? 
REVISION 



*j^£EGEND * * 



Scale = I : 13320 
One lnch = 1 1 10 feet 



NIPPENICKET 



"^67 



5000 



ilne Town Office Bull 



ROAD CLASSIFICATION 
Heovy duly —^— Light duly ■ — 
Medium duty ' Unimproved = = = 

^s«- ©«... R.e« c r:L a J°"" R °° ds 



UILDINGS AND SITES 



C-l First Congregational Church 




L-l Roynham Memorial Library 






C-3 Raynham Soptltl Church 




PS-l N.Roynhom Water Dltt. Pumping Sto No-I 


0-1 Elm Strael Development - ChOO Hgll 




mKTanf'&n. 


0-3 Slonybrooh Development -Tounton Const Ct 




D-5 Plea$anlfleld Oe* Sec. \ -Componelll 
0-6 Pleoscntfield Oev Sec. 3 - Companel l.i 




S-2 Center School 






D-8 Rovnnam Acree Dev ■ Tounlon Const, Co. 




5-5 Brldgenaier-Roynhom Regional High School 


D-IO Allied Sloret Business- Oav.- J.M Co 




All Town Offices lOoen Tuesaoy-7;OOto9.00RM.) 














p-14 Boy Acres-George Holl 

D-15 Highland Terrace Da* -Chlcnerlng 




J-Z Gilmore Hall 






0-17 Stoge Cooch Landing Dev -ChlcKerlno. 




C-9 Edgewood Club 








0-20 HoitiMOit Hill On. S ftfi Com'. 






LOCATION OF 


NEW STREETS AND ROADS 






Svtvaln'* 




} - -[ Restaur 


Sylvoin Slree 




Broadway 


- Woodward Ro 


ad--©- 


Elm SI- Oev. 


May Avenue 
/* .<*.* LMr!ir%w9f 

S^>^ >r> Bradford Roo 
sj*^ ** Macy Rood 


Rood] © ( ^"pment'' 


®-- Sun 


et Hts. Ext. 


] ]©C Ro 


Bl».lo A m" 


■%. Standlshfloo< 




X^ 'P Birch Avenue - 


. -®--C 


alr.T»rrace